Career Training Path › CNC & machining programs › New York
CNC & machining programs in New York
New York has 9 accredited campuses awarding machinist credentials. If you finish and work as a machinist in New York, expect to start around $40,560–$48,040 and reach a median of $60,920 with experience; the top quarter earn $74,180 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, New York). Graduates of these New York programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $35,964 in their first year, against $36,340 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What machinists earn in New York
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 9,400 employed in New York. National median: $58,750.
Campuses in New York, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AlfredAuburnBuffaloCorningJamestownRochesterSyracuseUticaWest Seneca
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUNY College of Technology at Alfred | Alfred | Public | 22 | $37,087 | $12,000 | not reported | not reported |
| Mohawk Valley Community College | Utica | Public | 1 | $34,842 | not reported | 38% | not reported |
| Erie Community College | Buffalo | Public | 19 | not reported | not reported | 28% | not reported |
| Erie 1 BOCES | West Seneca | Public | 18 | not reported | not reported | 96% | $17,365 |
| SUNY Corning Community College | Corning | Public | 11 | not reported | not reported | 34% | not reported |
| Jamestown Community College | Jamestown | Public | 2 | not reported | not reported | 40% | not reported |
| Cayuga County Community College | Auburn | Public | 1 | not reported | not reported | 30% | not reported |
| Onondaga Community College | Syracuse | Public | 1 | not reported | not reported | 27% | not reported |
| Rochester Institute of Technology | Rochester | non-profit | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.