Career Training Path › CNC & machining programs › Virginia
CNC & machining programs in Virginia
Virginia has 9 accredited campuses awarding machinist credentials. If you finish and work as a machinist in Virginia, expect to start around $45,120–$49,900 and reach a median of $61,290 with experience; the top quarter earn $71,470 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Virginia). Graduates of these Virginia programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $31,371 in their first year, against $36,340 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What machinists earn in Virginia
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 5,660 employed in Virginia. National median: $58,750.
Campuses in Virginia, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AbingdonCedar BluffChesterDanvilleDublinLynchburgMartinsvilleNorfolkWytheville
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tidewater Community College | Norfolk | Public | 3 | $35,934 | $7,500 | 32% | not reported |
| New River Community College | Dublin | Public | 15 | $31,371 | not reported | 50% | not reported |
| Patrick & Henry Community College | Martinsville | Public | 4 | $31,323 | not reported | 42% | not reported |
| Central Virginia Community College | Lynchburg | Public | 70 | not reported | not reported | 45% | not reported |
| Danville Community College | Danville | Public | 32 | not reported | not reported | 39% | not reported |
| Wytheville Community College | Wytheville | Public | 13 | not reported | not reported | 47% | not reported |
| Brightpoint Community College | Chester | Public | 10 | not reported | not reported | 38% | not reported |
| Virginia Highlands Community College | Abingdon | Public | 8 | not reported | not reported | 40% | not reported |
| Southwest Virginia Community College | Cedar Bluff | Public | 4 | not reported | not reported | 46% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.