Career Training Path › Diesel mechanic schools › North Carolina
Diesel mechanic schools in North Carolina
North Carolina has 4 accredited campuses awarding diesel tech credentials. If you finish and work as a diesel technician in North Carolina, expect to start around $39,890–$48,040 and reach a median of $57,490 with experience; the top quarter earn $64,770 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, North Carolina). Graduates of these North Carolina programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of not reported in their first year, against $37,506 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists earn in North Carolina
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 11,070 employed in North Carolina. National median: $61,770.
Campuses in North Carolina, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AsheboroFlat RockMorehead CitySalisbury
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carteret Community College | Morehead City | Public | 11 | not reported | not reported | 49% | not reported |
| Blue Ridge Community College | Flat Rock | Public | 8 | not reported | not reported | 50% | not reported |
| Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | Salisbury | Public | 5 | not reported | not reported | 35% | not reported |
| Randolph Community College | Asheboro | Public | 2 | not reported | not reported | 58% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.