Career Training Path › Diesel mechanic schools › Washington
Diesel mechanic schools in Washington
Washington has 11 accredited campuses awarding diesel tech credentials. If you finish and work as a diesel technician in Washington, expect to start around $54,720–$63,700 and reach a median of $77,900 with experience; the top quarter earn $92,880 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Washington). Graduates of these Washington programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $38,009 in their first year, against $37,506 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists earn in Washington
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 7,410 employed in Washington. National median: $61,770.
Campuses in Washington, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AberdeenBellinghamCentraliaKirklandLongviewMount VernonSeattleSpokaneTacomaVancouverWalla Walla
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skagit Valley College | Mount Vernon | Public | 7 | $47,741 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spokane Community College | Spokane | Public | 18 | $39,346 | $14,679 | not reported | not reported |
| Lake Washington Institute of Technology | Kirkland | Public | 14 | $36,672 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Walla Walla Community College | Walla Walla | Public | 20 | $34,346 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bates Technical College | Tacoma | Public | 117 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bellingham Technical College | Bellingham | Public | 35 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Centralia College | Centralia | Public | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Grays Harbor College | Aberdeen | Public | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| South Seattle College | Seattle | Public | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clark College | Vancouver | Public | 5 | not reported | $9,625 | not reported | not reported |
| Lower Columbia College | Longview | Public | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.