Career Training Path › Electrician schools › Illinois
Electrician schools in Illinois
Illinois has 11 accredited campuses awarding electrician credentials. If you finish and work as an electrician in Illinois, expect to start around $49,240–$73,520 and reach a median of $99,560 with experience; the top quarter earn $117,460 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Illinois). Graduates of these Illinois programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $44,670 in their first year, against $34,710 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What electricians earn in Illinois
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 23,120 employed in Illinois. National median: $63,190.
Campuses in Illinois, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: BellevilleCentraliaChicagoChicago HeightsFairfieldMattoonMelrose ParkOglesbyQuincyRockford
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southwestern Illinois College | Belleville | Public | 43 | $56,142 | not reported | 37% | not reported |
| Lincoln College of Technology-Melrose Park | Melrose Park | for-profit | 266 | $33,198 | $11,931 | 69% | $29,496 |
| City Colleges of Chicago-Richard J Daley College | Chicago | Public | 557 | not reported | not reported | 27% | not reported |
| HVAC Technical Institute | Chicago | for-profit | 55 | not reported | $6,861 | 86% | $24,268 |
| Illinois Valley Community College | Oglesby | Public | 26 | not reported | not reported | 42% | not reported |
| Rock Valley College | Rockford | Public | 22 | not reported | not reported | 37% | not reported |
| John Wood Community College | Quincy | Public | 20 | not reported | not reported | 49% | not reported |
| Frontier Community College | Fairfield | Public | 19 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kaskaskia College | Centralia | Public | 15 | not reported | not reported | 49% | not reported |
| Prairie State College | Chicago Heights | Public | 14 | not reported | not reported | 21% | not reported |
| Lake Land College | Mattoon | Public | 2 | not reported | not reported | 58% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.