Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Georgia › Albany State University

Albany State University

Albany, Georgia · Public university · Training programs available:

Medical assistant programsRadiology & sonography programsDental hygiene programsMedical billing & coding programsEMT & paramedic training
not reportedcompletion rate · Georgia avg 50%
$25,024median debt of graduates
$35,579median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$40,674median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 504 College Drive, Albany, GA 31705 · Phone: (229) 500-3500 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
Sanction on record, since lifted — Dec 2024 · Other · American Occupational Therapy Association; May 2026 · Renewal of Accreditation. 2 sanction actions in the window.
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Albany State University is a public trade and career school in Albany, Georgia offering medical assistant, radiology/sonography, and dental hygiene programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

The state average completion rate is 49.7%, and median graduate debt is $25,024 with median earnings of $40,674 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard; this campus's own completion rate is not reported.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Albany State University; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 69.3% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$34,270$41,600$46,870
Radiologic technologists and technicians$49,730$74,550$85,300
Dental hygienists$74,610$95,490$101,620
Medical records specialists$36,260$51,550$64,840
Emergency medical technicians$33,910$45,550$48,400

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Georgia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 12 $48,072 not reported $15,750
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 11 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 9 $47,214 not reported $20,250
Health and Medical Administrative Services Associate degree 9 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 6 $48,072 not reported $15,750
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 4 $47,214 not reported $20,250
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 3 $47,214 not reported $20,250
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 2 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

Albany State University is a public university in Albany, Georgia, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional program-level accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. Among its trade and career-focused offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in medical assistant programs (18), radiology and sonography programs (13), and dental hygiene programs (11), across nine program families total.

The state average completion rate is 49.7%, though this campus's own completion rate and its comparison to that state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates who took on debt carried a median of $25,024, and median earnings ten years after entry were $40,674. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 69.3% of students receive Pell Grants, reflecting a student population with significant financial need. Total undergraduate enrollment is 5,956, with 58 trade program completers recorded.

This campus, located in a small city, may suit students pursuing structured healthcare-related credentials such as medical assisting, radiology, or dental hygiene, though specific program lengths are not reported here and should be confirmed directly with the school. Prospective students, including adult career-changers, should verify current accreditation status and detailed outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and by contacting the university directly before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Albany State University's top trade-related programs are medical assistant programs (18 awards), radiology and sonography programs (13), and dental hygiene programs (11), across nine program families overall.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional program accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

This campus's completion rate and its comparison to the state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. The state average completion rate is 49.7%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carried a median debt of $25,024, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry were $40,674, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Albany State University is a public institution, which generally means state-supported funding and typically lower published costs compared to for-profit schools, though actual costs should be confirmed with the school.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school at (229) 500-3500 or visit its website to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status and review detailed federal outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at the provided link, or by contacting the school directly.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not specify program formats or schedules for adult learners, so this cannot be confirmed from federal data alone; prospective students should contact the school to discuss fit for career-changers.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported in this data; contact the school directly to learn what credentials follow specific programs like dental hygiene or radiology.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Albany State University by phone at (229) 500-3500 or through its website at https://www.asurams.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; use the College Scorecard to compare completion, debt, and earnings figures across institutions.

Other trade and career schools in Albany, GA

See all trade and career schools in Georgia or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →