Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Kentucky › Appalachian Beauty School

Appalachian Beauty School

Belfry, Kentucky · Private for-profit career school · Training programs available:

Cosmetology schools
56%completion rate · Kentucky avg 56%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
not reportedmedian earnings, 6 yrs after entry
not reportedmedian earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$17,455annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (Accredited)
Address: 25429 Us Hwy 119N, Belfry, KY 41514 · Phone: (606) 519-3610 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Appalachian Beauty School is a private for-profit trade school in Belfry, Kentucky offering cosmetology programs, accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Appalachian Beauty School has a 56.2% completion rate, near the Kentucky state average of 55.5%. Median graduate debt and median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus.

Annual cost of attendance at Appalachian Beauty School is $17,455, and federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here. About 63.1% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Appalachian Beauty Sc… Appalachian Beauty Sc…: 56.2% 56.2% Kentucky average Kentucky average: 55.5% 55.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$22,580$29,840$42,220

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Kentucky (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 17 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Appalachian Beauty School is a private for-profit trade campus in Belfry, Kentucky, located in a remote rural setting. It is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and students can use federal financial aid (Title IV) to help pay for enrollment. The school's single program family is cosmetology, with cosmetology schools accounting for 17 completers reported in federal data.

Looking at the numbers: the campus completion rate is 56.2%, which is near the Kentucky state average of 55.5%. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and median earnings 10 years after entry is also not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $17,455. About 63.1% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a large share of the roughly 49-person undergraduate enrollment relies on need-based federal aid.

This campus appears to suit students seeking a focused, single-track cosmetology program rather than a multi-program institution, though specific program length is not reported for this campus in federal data, so applicants should confirm scheduling directly with the school. Given the rural locale and modest enrollment, it may fit local students or career changers in the region who want to pursue a hands-on trade credential close to home. To verify accreditation status, enrollment figures, and outcomes independently, prospective students can check the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences directly and review the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard listing for this school before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Appalachian Beauty School offers cosmetology programs, with 17 completers reported in federal data in that single program family.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 56.2%, which is near the Kentucky state average of 55.5%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (606) 519-3610 or check the College Scorecard link for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry is not reported for this campus in federal data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The reported cost of attendance is $17,455 per year.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Appalachian Beauty School is a private for-profit institution, which can affect tuition pricing and ownership structure compared to public or non-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (606) 519-3610 or via its website for current schedule details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and review enrollment and outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at the provided link.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data shows a single, focused cosmetology program in a rural locale, which may suit those seeking a concentrated trade credential, though specific fit for career changers is not detailed in federal data.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to learn about state cosmetology licensing steps.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Appalachian Beauty School at (606) 519-3610 or visit https://appalachianbeautyschool.com/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with nearby cosmetology schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; the College Scorecard link can help you compare outcomes across schools.

Nearby trade and career schools in Kentucky

See all trade and career schools in Kentucky or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →