Career Training Path › North Carolina › Beaufort County Community College
Beaufort County Community College
Washington, North Carolina · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 5337 US Highway 264 East, Washington, NC 27889 · Phone: (252) 946-6194 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Beaufort County Community College is a public trade school in Washington, North Carolina, offering cosmetology, LPN/LVN, and welding programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Beaufort County Community College has a 47.7% completion rate, near the North Carolina state average of 47.8%, with median graduate earnings of $32,519 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Beaufort County Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 33.2% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $26,880 | $38,410 | $48,300 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,480 | $63,270 | $69,700 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,540 | $50,590 | $60,870 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $31,500 | $48,200 | $63,170 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $35,190 | $44,250 | $49,310 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in North Carolina (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 17 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 16 | not reported | $32,925 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Associate degree | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Beaufort County Community College is a public trade and career-training campus in Washington, North Carolina, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and approved for federal financial aid under Title IV. The college offers 10 program families, with its most-completed trade programs being cosmetology schools (23 completers), LPN/LVN programs (16 completers), and welding schools (10 completers).
Federal data show a completion rate of 47.7%, which is near the North Carolina state average of 47.8%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $32,519. About 33.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of the roughly 1,074 undergraduates come from lower-income backgrounds. Median debt of graduates and annual cost of attendance are not reported for this campus in federal data.
This campus, located in a fringe rural setting, may suit students seeking short, hands-on trade credentials such as cosmetology, LPN, or welding training rather than longer academic degree paths, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Career changers should confirm scheduling and program length directly with the school. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome figures, contact the college at (252) 946-6194, visit https://www.beaufortccc.edu/, or check the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?197966.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Beaufort County Community College offers 10 program families, with the most completions in cosmetology schools, LPN/LVN programs, and welding schools.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 47.7%, which is near the North Carolina state average of 47.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (252) 946-6194 or check the College Scorecard for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $32,519 for graduates of this campus.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which often means lower tuition and eligibility for state-level funding compared to for-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review federal outcome data at the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?197966.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers hands-on trade programs like cosmetology, LPN, and welding, which may suit career changers, though specific scheduling details are not reported here; contact the school to confirm fit.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing or certification requirements are not detailed in the available data; contact the school at (252) 946-6194 to learn about specific program requirements.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Beaufort County Community College by phone at (252) 946-6194 or visit their website at https://www.beaufortccc.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; check the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?197966 to compare outcomes across institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in North Carolina
- Edgecombe Community CollegeTarboro, NC · 37% completion
- Nash Community CollegeRocky Mount, NC · 41% completion
- Martin Community CollegeWilliamston, NC · 39% completion
- Halifax Community CollegeWeldon, NC · 35% completion
- Wilson Community CollegeWilson, NC · 27% completion
- Alexander Paul Institute of Hair DesignGreenville, NC · 64% completion
- A2Z Trucking AcademyWilson, NC
- Jackie's Daughters Driver Training Academy LLCAulander, NC
See all trade and career schools in North Carolina or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.