Career Training Path › Ohio › Choffin Career and Technical Center
Choffin Career and Technical Center
Youngstown, Ohio · Public
Address: 200 E Wood St., Youngstown, OH 44503 · Phone: 33074487008701 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Choffin Career and Technical Center is a public trade school in Youngstown, Ohio, offering LPN/LVN, dental assistant, and surgical technologist programs, accredited by ACCSC.
Choffin's completion rate is 94.2%, above the Ohio state average of 68.8%; median graduate debt is $5,500 and median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,654, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Choffin Career and Technical Center; federal financial aid can be used since the school participates in Title IV, and 81.9% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,030 | $61,950 | $65,900 |
| Dental assistants | $36,870 | $47,970 | $59,520 |
| Surgical technologists | $48,110 | $62,420 | $73,790 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Ohio (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | $35,804 | $29,685 | $6,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $38,683 | $35,701 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $26,223 | $23,649 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Choffin Career and Technical Center is a public trade school in Youngstown, Ohio, located in a small-city setting. The campus participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning students may use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help pay for programs. It is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and its dental program carries accreditation from the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation. The school's most awarded programs are LPN / LVN programs (14 completers), dental assistant schools (6), and surgical technologist programs (6).
Federal data shows a completion rate of 94.2%, well above the Ohio state average of 68.8%. Graduates carry a median debt of $5,500, and median earnings ten years after entry are $34,654 per the College Scorecard. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 81.9% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating the campus serves a largely lower-income student population.
Given its concentration in short, clinically focused health programs — LPN, dental assisting, and surgical technology — this campus may suit adults changing careers into healthcare support roles, though exact program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and the Commission on Dental Accreditation, and review official outcomes on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Choffin offers LPN/LVN programs, dental assistant training, and surgical technologist programs, with LPN having the most completers (14).
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and its dental program is accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 94.2%, which is above the Ohio state average of 68.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $5,500, per federal Scorecard data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $34,654, per the College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition information.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Choffin is a public school, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility tied to state oversight, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at the phone number or website listed to confirm schedules.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and the Commission on Dental Accreditation, and review outcomes on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?201803.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus's focus on healthcare-support programs like LPN, dental assisting, and surgical technology may appeal to career changers, though fit should be confirmed by contacting the school since specific schedule and format details are not reported in federal data.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Choffin Career and Technical Center by phone at 330-744-8701 or visit https://www.choffinctcadulted.com/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; consult the College Scorecard to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across schools.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.