Career Training Path › Illinois › College of Lake County
College of Lake County
Grayslake, Illinois · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 19351 W Washington St., Grayslake, IL 60030 · Phone: (847) 543-2000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
College of Lake County is a public trade and career school in Grayslake, Illinois offering CNA classes, auto mechanic training, and HVAC programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and others.
College of Lake County has a 37.4% completion rate, below the state average of 58.4%; graduates carry a median debt of $8,735 and earn a median of $43,424 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for College of Lake County; the school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 24.1% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing assistants | $37,590 | $45,960 | $48,380 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $34,190 | $49,170 | $73,640 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $46,690 | $77,410 | $96,030 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $36,420 | $42,260 | $49,640 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $40,330 | $58,830 | $73,620 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,890 | $51,320 | $61,520 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $59,350 | $79,930 | $97,950 |
| Medical assistants | $36,400 | $46,090 | $49,460 |
| Medical records specialists | $38,890 | $56,440 | $64,360 |
| Dental hygienists | $74,280 | $96,670 | $101,800 |
| Phlebotomists | $37,370 | $46,010 | $49,720 |
| Massage therapists | $33,770 | $60,490 | $77,550 |
| Surgical technologists | $48,560 | $64,650 | $77,670 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $36,550 | $46,650 | $49,150 |
| Machinists | $38,390 | $58,520 | $65,620 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Illinois (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 489 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 288 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 215 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, under 300 hours | 166 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 59 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 43 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 34 | $64,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 28 | $60,254 | $55,512 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 20 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Associate degree | 20 | $55,123 | $59,350 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 15 | not reported | $31,670 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 14 | not reported | $21,508 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 11 | not reported | $41,565 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | $64,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 8 | $60,254 | $55,512 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 8 | not reported | $26,353 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 6 | $60,254 | $55,512 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 6 | not reported | $41,565 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | $26,353 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | $64,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
College of Lake County is a public community college in Grayslake, Illinois, located in a large suburb. It participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), so students may use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants where eligible. The school holds accreditation from several bodies, including the Higher Learning Commission, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Across 35 trade and career program areas, the campus awards the most completions in CNA classes, auto mechanic training, and HVAC programs, alongside offerings in welding, culinary arts, medical assisting, dental hygiene, and other fields.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 37.4%, which is below the state average of 58.4%. Graduates carry a median debt of $8,735, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $43,424. About 24.1% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With 1,563 trade program completers among an undergraduate enrollment of 9,420, this campus serves a large student body pursuing a mix of short-term certificates and longer allied health or technical credentials. The range of programs, from quick-entry fields like CNA and phlebotomy to accreditation-heavy paths like dental hygiene and radiologic technology, may suit both new students and adult career changers, though specific program lengths and schedules are not detailed here. Prospective students should confirm current accreditation status, program length, and outcomes directly with the school or via the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
College of Lake County offers 35 trade and career program areas, with the most completions in CNA classes, auto mechanic training, and HVAC programs. Other program families include welding, culinary arts, medical assisting, dental hygiene, phlebotomy, and pharmacy technology, among others.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited. Accrediting bodies include the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Higher Learning Commission, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, meaning students may use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants where eligible.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 37.4%, which is below the state average of 58.4%, according to federal data.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $8,735, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings for graduates are reported at $43,424 ten years after entry, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (847) 543-2000 or visit its website for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
College of Lake County is a public institution. Public schools are typically government-funded community or state colleges, which can affect tuition rates and financial aid eligibility.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration for a specific field of interest.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation status and review federal outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?146472.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers both short-term certificate programs like CNA classes and phlebotomy, as well as more extensive credentialed programs like dental hygiene and radiologic technology, which may suit varied schedules and goals. Specific fit depends on individual program length and format, which are not detailed here, so contacting the school is recommended.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing requirements vary by program and are not detailed in this data. Contact the school directly to learn about certification or licensing requirements for a specific program.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach College of Lake County at (847) 543-2000 or visit its website at https://www.clcillinois.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Federal data for this campus does not include direct comparisons with other nearby schools. Use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across schools offering similar programs.
Nearby trade and career schools in Illinois
- William Rainey Harper CollegePalatine, IL · 48% completion
- Oakton CollegeDes Plaines, IL · 37% completion
- McHenry County CollegeCrystal Lake, IL · 37% completion
- Chicago Professional CenterProspect Heights, IL · career school
- First Institute of Travel, Inc.Crystal Lake, IL · 72% completion
- Estelle Medical AcademySkokie, IL · 86% completion
- State Career CollegeGurnee, IL · 74% completion
- Cosmetology & Spa AcademyCrystal Lake, IL · 70% completion
See all trade and career schools in Illinois or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.