Career Training Path

Career Training Path › New York › Farmingdale State College

Farmingdale State College

Farmingdale, New York · Public college · Training programs available:

Dental hygiene programs
not reportedcompletion rate · New York avg 64%
$14,718median debt of graduates
$55,901median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$69,781median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation | Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education | Middle States Commission on Higher Education | New York State Board of Regents, State Education Department, Office of the Professions (Nu (Accredited)
Address: 2350 Broadhollow Road, Farmingdale, NY 11735 · Phone: (934) 420-2000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Farmingdale State College is a public trade/career school in Farmingdale, NY offering dental hygiene programs, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and others.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, graduates of Farmingdale State College carry a median debt of $14,718, with median earnings of $69,781 ten years after entry; completion rate comparison to the state average of 64.0% is not reported.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Farmingdale State College; the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid, and about 36.2% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Dental hygienists$77,680$106,130$121,740

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in New York (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 29 $50,064 $53,108 $13,564

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Farmingdale State College is a public campus located in Farmingdale, New York, operating within the State University of New York system. The school participates in federal Title IV financial aid programs, meaning students may use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants to help pay for enrollment. The campus is accredited, with recognition from bodies including the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and program-specific accreditors such as the Commission on Dental Accreditation. Among trade and career-focused offerings tracked in federal data, the school's most notable program is its dental hygiene program, which produced 29 completers.

Federal completion data shows a state average completion rate of 64.0% in New York, though this campus's own completion rate and how it compares to that state average is not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates carry a median debt of $14,718, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $69,781. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 36.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of lower-income student enrollment. Total undergraduate enrollment across the campus is 9,552.

This campus, with its dental hygiene program, may suit students pursuing a licensed allied health credential, though program length and schedule format are not detailed here. Career changers and prospective students should verify accreditation status directly with the listed accreditors and review current outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling, since some figures such as completion rate comparison and cost were not reported for this campus in the available federal data.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Federal data lists dental hygiene programs as the primary trade/career offering at Farmingdale State College, with 29 completers recorded.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited, with recognition from the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, the Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, and the New York State Board of Regents.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The campus's own completion rate and its comparison to the state average of 64.0% are not reported for this campus in federal data. Check the College Scorecard link for updates.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $14,718, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $69,781.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (934) 420-2000 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Farmingdale State College is a public institution, which typically means state subsidies help keep tuition lower than at for-profit schools, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly to confirm the schedule for its dental hygiene program.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status with the listed accreditors and review outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?196042.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not specify program format or scheduling flexibility, so fit for adult career changers cannot be determined from what's reported; contact the school to ask about options.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

The dental hygiene program is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation, which typically aligns with licensure requirements, but specific licensing details are not reported in this data; check with the school or your state's licensing board.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Farmingdale State College at (934) 420-2000 or through its website, https://www.farmingdale.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data against other nearby schools is not reported in the inputs provided; use the College Scorecard link to look up and compare other institutions.

Nearby trade and career schools in New York

See all trade and career schools in New York or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →