Career Training Path › Missouri › Grand River Technical School
Grand River Technical School
Chillicothe, Missouri · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 1200 Fair St, Chillicothe, MO 64601 · Phone: (660) 646-3414 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning or Equivalent-Factors Affecting Academic Quality · Council on Occupational Education; Jul 2025 · Removal of Show Cause Status. 3 sanction actions in the window.
Grand River Technical School is a public trade school in Chillicothe, Missouri, offering EMT/paramedic, diesel mechanic, and auto mechanic training, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
Grand River Technical School has an 88.9% completion rate, above Missouri's state average of 69.3%, and graduates earn a median of $40,665 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.
Grand River Technical School's annual cost of attendance is $18,325, federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used, and 45.5% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency medical technicians | $34,390 | $42,160 | $47,230 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $41,170 | $59,360 | $69,000 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $34,950 | $49,160 | $63,240 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,200 | $51,950 | $61,660 |
| Construction laborers | $37,870 | $56,730 | $77,580 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Missouri (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 9 | not reported | $58,181 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | $24,808 | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | $27,669 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | $58,181 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | $24,808 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | $24,808 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Grand River Technical School is a public trade and career-training campus in Chillicothe, Missouri, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, applies here. The school awards programs across seven program families, most commonly EMT & paramedic training, diesel mechanic training, and auto mechanic training, alongside welding and construction trades offerings.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 88.9%, above the Missouri state average of 69.3%. Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,665. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $18,325, and 45.5% of students receive Pell Grants, suggesting a substantial share of the roughly 65-student undergraduate body qualifies for need-based aid.
Given its small enrollment (about 65 students, with 45 trade completers reported) and location in a remote town, this campus appears set up for focused, hands-on trade instruction rather than a large multi-department college environment. Whether the programs suit an adult career-changer depends on schedule and program length details not included in this data — prospective students should contact the school directly or review the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard to confirm accreditation status, program length, and outcomes before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Grand River Technical School offers seven program families, most notably EMT & paramedic training, diesel mechanic training, and auto mechanic training, along with welding and construction trades programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 88.9%, which is above the Missouri state average of 69.3%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt for graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (660) 646-3414 or check the College Scorecard link for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,665.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
The reported annual cost of attendance is $18,325.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Grand River Technical School is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility for state and federal funding compared to for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (660) 646-3414 or visit https://www.grts.org/ to confirm.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review outcome data directly on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?176983.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not report program schedules or format details needed to assess fit for adult career-changers; contact the school directly to discuss options.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing and certification requirements are not reported in this data; contact the school at (660) 646-3414 for program-specific requirements.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Grand River Technical School by phone at (660) 646-3414 or visit https://www.grts.org/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; check the College Scorecard link to compare institutions directly.
Nearby trade and career schools in Missouri
- North Central Missouri CollegeTrenton, MO · 58% completion
- Norborne R-VIII School DistrictNorborne, MO
- Pattonsburg R2Pattonsburg, MO
- RoyseldtGilman city, MO
- Ozarks Technical Community CollegeSpringfield, MO · college
- State Technical College of MissouriLinn, MO · 84% completion
- Crowder CollegeNeosho, MO · 49% completion
- Midwest Technical Institute-MissouriSpringfield, MO · 81% completion
See all trade and career schools in Missouri or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.