Career Training Path › Alabama › H Councill Trenholm State Community College
H Councill Trenholm State Community College
Montgomery, Alabama · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 1225 Air Base Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36108 · Phone: (334) 420-4200 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Nov 2024 · Monitoring · Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; Apr 2025 · Renewal of Accreditation.
H Councill Trenholm State Community College is a public trade school in Montgomery, AL offering culinary, radiology, and LPN programs, accredited by ACEN and CODA.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, H Councill Trenholm State's completion rate is 16.1%, below the state average of 45.5%, with median graduate earnings of $32,183 ten years after entry. Median debt figures are not reported for this campus.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for H Councill Trenholm State; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and 63.7% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chefs and head cooks | $39,940 | $62,400 | $74,130 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $41,060 | $60,700 | $71,620 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $39,880 | $57,030 | $61,800 |
| Dental assistants | $30,840 | $39,080 | $47,100 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $31,030 | $45,640 | $61,560 |
| Medical assistants | $29,630 | $36,100 | $38,360 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $37,470 | $50,470 | $61,030 |
| Electricians | $37,640 | $55,690 | $64,450 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $28,620 | $37,810 | $44,210 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Alabama (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 28 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 17 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 15 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 14 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
H Councill Trenholm State Community College is a public trade and career school located in Montgomery, Alabama. It participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), meaning students may use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for their education. The college holds accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and its programs are currently accredited. The campus offers 12 program families, with the largest enrollments in culinary & pastry schools (29 students), radiology & sonography programs (28 students), and LPN/LVN programs (17 students).
Looking at the numbers: the completion rate at this campus is 16.1%, which is below the Alabama state average of 45.5%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $32,183. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 63.7% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of the student body qualifies for need-based federal aid.
This campus may suit students interested in short, hands-on career-training programs in healthcare support, dental, and culinary fields, given its program mix in LPN, dental assisting, and radiology tracks. Whether specific programs fit an adult career-changer's schedule is not detailed in the available data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the listed accreditors and review official outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
The campus offers 12 program families, with the largest programs being culinary & pastry schools, radiology & sonography programs, and LPN/LVN programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and its status is currently listed as accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students may use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate at this campus is 16.1%, which is below the Alabama state average of 45.5%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or check the College Scorecard for more detail.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $32,183, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state and federal funding support.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school directly to confirm program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the listed accreditors and review official federal outcome data at the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard link for this school.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
Program length and schedule details needed to assess career-changer fit are not reported in the available data; contact the school for specifics.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Specific licensing or certification requirements after program completion are not reported in the available data; contact the school for details relevant to each program.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can contact H Councill Trenholm State Community College at (334) 420-4200 or visit https://www.trenholmstate.edu/ for application information.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not reported in the available data; you can research other schools using the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?102313.
Other trade and career schools in Montgomery, AL
- Fortis College-MontgomeryMontgomery, AL · 46% completion
- South University-MontgomeryMontgomery, AL · university
- Agape CDL TRAININGMontgomery, AL
- Entry Level Training Academy LLCMontgomery, AL
- Pike Road TransportationMontgomery, AL
- Trenholm State Community CollegeMontgomery, AL
- George C Wallace State Community College-HancevilleHanceville, AL · 51% completion
- J F Ingram State Technical CollegeDeatsville, AL · 21% completion
See all trade and career schools in Alabama or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.