Career Training Path › Montana › Helena College University of Montana
Helena College University of Montana
Helena, Montana · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 1115 N Roberts Street, Helena, MT 59601 · Phone: (406) 447-6900 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Helena College University of Montana is a public trade school in Helena, Montana offering aviation maintenance, welding, and CNC machining programs, accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
Helena College University of Montana has a 33.3% completion rate, below the state average of 52.3%, with median graduate debt of $14,580 and median earnings of $40,738 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Helena College University of Montana; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including Pell Grants, can be used here, with about 18.3% of students receiving Pell.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aircraft mechanics and service technicians | $47,100 | $64,170 | $82,240 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $43,720 | $55,610 | $63,520 |
| Machinists | $37,940 | $60,920 | $68,760 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $49,230 | $62,210 | $66,850 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $44,880 | $59,990 | $71,180 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $38,170 | $58,740 | $72,270 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Montana (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 11 | $32,024 | $41,007 | $12,825 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | $32,024 | $41,007 | $12,825 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 5 | $34,608 | $34,847 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 3 | $34,608 | $34,847 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 2 | $34,608 | $34,847 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 1 | $32,024 | $41,007 | $12,825 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Helena College University of Montana is a public trade and career campus in Helena, Montana, located in a small city setting. The school participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), and it holds accreditation from the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. Among its 13 trade program families, the campus awards the most credentials in Aviation maintenance (A&P) schools, Welding schools, and CNC & machining programs.
Federal data show a completion rate of 33.3%, which is below the state average of 52.3%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $14,580, and median earnings 10 years after entry were $40,738. About 18.3% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With 585 undergraduates enrolled and 85 trade completers reported, this campus offers a mix of shorter technical programs and longer credential tracks in fields like aviation maintenance, welding, and machining. The program mix suggests it could suit both recent high school graduates and adult career changers seeking hands-on technical training, though specific schedule flexibility is not reported in federal data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and review official outcome figures on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Helena College University of Montana offers 13 trade program families, with the most credentials awarded in Aviation maintenance (A&P) schools, Welding schools, and CNC & machining programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 33.3%, which is below the Montana state average of 52.3%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $14,580, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,738, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Helena College University of Montana is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state funding, though specific tuition rates are not reported here.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported in the available federal data; contact the school at (406) 447-6900 or visit helenacollege.edu for program schedules.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and check outcomes on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?180276.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers hands-on technical programs in fields like aviation maintenance, welding, and machining, which may suit adult career changers, though specific scheduling flexibility is not reported in federal data.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can contact Helena College University of Montana at (406) 447-6900 or through its website, helenacollege.edu.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; check the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?180276 for comparison tools.
Other trade and career schools in Helena, MT
- Harmon Automotive ServicesHelena, MT
- Helena CollegeHelena, MT
- Montana department of transportation HelenaHelena, MT
- Boulder, MTBoulder, MT
- Great Falls College Montana State UniversityGreat Falls, MT · 34% completion
- The University of MontanaMissoula, MT · university
- Montana State University BillingsBillings, MT · university
- Montana State UniversityBozeman, MT · university
See all trade and career schools in Montana or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.