Career Training Path › Maine › Kennebec Valley Community College
Kennebec Valley Community College
Fairfield, Maine · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 92 Western Ave, Fairfield, ME 04937 · Phone: (207) 453-5000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Kennebec Valley Community College is a public trade school in Fairfield, Maine, offering medical assistant, electrician, and EMT training programs, accredited by multiple national bodies.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Kennebec Valley Community College has a 38.6% completion rate, below Maine's 56.7% state average, with median graduate debt of $13,255 and median earnings of $36,035 ten years after entry.
Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid, and 31.2% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical assistants | $40,220 | $47,580 | $51,460 |
| Electricians | $54,180 | $75,380 | $84,390 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $38,210 | $46,340 | $49,080 |
| Electrical power-line installers and repairers | $52,190 | $83,090 | $103,640 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $47,230 | $62,220 | $69,130 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $62,210 | $80,080 | $92,410 |
| Medical records specialists | $42,210 | $52,090 | $61,790 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $47,090 | $63,170 | $76,920 |
| Machinists | $45,760 | $59,160 | $72,640 |
| Phlebotomists | $37,810 | $45,640 | $48,010 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $48,430 | $57,010 | $63,060 |
| Plumbers, pipefitters and steamfitters | $48,120 | $64,000 | $75,720 |
| Construction laborers | $36,190 | $46,430 | $53,070 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Maine (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 25 | not reported | $43,798 | $5,500 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 24 | not reported | $55,512 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 18 | not reported | $32,711 | $15,000 |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 18 | not reported | $35,594 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | not reported | $43,798 | $5,500 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 13 | not reported | $45,305 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 10 | not reported | $32,711 | $15,000 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | $22,999 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | $33,993 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | $45,305 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | $32,711 | $15,000 |
| Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | $40,647 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Kennebec Valley Community College is a public trade and career school in Fairfield, Maine, located in a remote town setting. The campus participates in federal Title IV financial aid, meaning eligible students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for programs. It holds accreditation from several bodies depending on program, including the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Occupational Therapy Association's Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy, the American Physical Therapy Association's Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and the New England Commission of Higher Education. Across its 22 programs, the most-completed are medical assistant programs, electrician schools, and EMT & paramedic training.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 38.6%, which is below the Maine state average of 56.7%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $13,255, and median earnings ten years after entry were $36,035. About 31.2% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With 198 trade completers among 1,597 undergraduates, the school offers a mix of shorter certificate-style programs (like EMT training and medical assistant work) and longer technical tracks (like electrician and radiology technology), which may suit both recent high school graduates and adult career changers depending on program length and format. Prospective students should verify specific program accreditation status and review current outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Kennebec Valley Community College offers 22 programs across families including medical assistant, electrician, EMT training, welding, HVAC, plumbing, and radiology technology. The top three by completions are medical assistant programs, electrician schools, and EMT & paramedic training.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited. Depending on program, accreditors include the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Occupational Therapy Association's Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy, the American Physical Therapy Association's Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and the New England Commission of Higher Education.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so eligible students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 38.6%, which is below the Maine state average of 56.7%, per federal data.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $13,255, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $36,035, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state and federal aid programs.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the provided data; contact the school directly at (207) 453-5000 or visit its website for program length details.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can review the school's outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?161192, and confirm program-specific accreditation with the listed accrediting bodies.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers both shorter programs, such as EMT training and medical assistant courses, and longer technical tracks like electrician and radiology technology, which may fit adult learners depending on the specific program's length and schedule; contact the school to confirm fit for your situation.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Kennebec Valley Community College at (207) 453-5000 or through its website at https://www.kvcc.me.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in Maine
- Keep Right Inc.Albion, ME
- Piscataquis Valley Adult Education CooperativeDexter, ME
- Rsu #18Oakland, ME
- Rsu 71Belfast, ME
- Southern Maine Community CollegeSouth Portland, ME · 28% completion
- Eastern Maine Community CollegeBangor, ME · 32% completion
- Northeast Technical InstituteScarborough, ME · 90% completion
- Northern Maine Community CollegePresque Isle, ME · 42% completion
See all trade and career schools in Maine or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.