Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Nebraska › Mid-Plains Community College

Mid-Plains Community College

North Platte, Nebraska · Public community college · Training programs available:

Auto mechanic schoolsEMT & paramedic trainingElectrician schoolsLPN / LVN programsWelding schoolsHVAC schoolsConstruction trades programsDiesel mechanic schools
54%completion rate · Nebraska avg 61%
$9,995median debt of graduates
$34,852median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$40,059median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Higher Learning Commission (Accredited)
Address: 601 West State Farm Road, North Platte, NE 69101 · Phone: (800) 658-4308 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Mid-Plains Community College is a public trade and career school in North Platte, Nebraska, offering auto mechanic, EMT, and electrician training, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Mid-Plains Community College has a 53.8% completion rate, below the Nebraska state average of 61.0%, with median graduate debt of $9,995 and median earnings of $40,059 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Mid-Plains Community College; contact the school for current tuition. It participates in Title IV federal financial aid, and 18.0% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Mid-Plains Community … Mid-Plains Community …: 53.8% 53.8% Nebraska average Nebraska average: 61% 61% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$36,770$50,560$62,710
Emergency medical technicians$35,060$41,710$52,070
Electricians$40,400$60,820$79,130
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$50,890$62,660$71,860
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$43,850$52,220$61,810
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$43,540$59,850$74,160
Construction laborers$36,400$47,260$55,550
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$44,010$59,140$65,200

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Nebraska (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 17 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 15 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 12 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Associate degree 12 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 8 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 7 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 6 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 5 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 4 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 4 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Certificate, 1–2 years 3 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 1–2 years 3 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 3 not reported $29,322 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 1 not reported $29,322 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Mid-Plains Community College is a public community and technical college located in North Platte, Nebraska. The campus is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and participates in federal Title IV financial aid, meaning eligible students can use FAFSA-based aid such as Pell Grants to help pay for enrollment. Among its 17 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in auto mechanic schools (31 completions), EMT and paramedic training (20), and electrician schools (15).

For campus outcomes, the completion rate is 53.8%, which is below the state average of 61.0% for similar programs. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $9,995, and median earnings 10 years after entry were $40,059, according to federal data. About 18.0% of students received Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.

This mix of short career-training programs — auto mechanics, EMT, electrical — tends to suit students seeking direct entry into a trade rather than a multi-year degree, though exact program lengths are not stated here. The fringe rural locale and public, Title IV-eligible status may appeal to local career changers, but applicants should independently verify accreditation status and outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling, since program length and licensing requirements are not detailed in this listing.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Mid-Plains Community College offers 17 program families, with the most completions in auto mechanic schools (31), EMT and paramedic training (20), and electrician schools (15).

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 53.8%, which is below the Nebraska state average of 61.0%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $9,995, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,059, per federal data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (800) 658-4308 or visit https://www.mpcc.edu/ for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which often means lower tuition and eligibility for state funding compared to for-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program schedules.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?181312.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The listed programs, such as auto mechanics, EMT training, and electrician schools, are common short career-training tracks, but specific fit for adult career changers is not detailed in federal data; contact the school to discuss scheduling and format.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (800) 658-4308 for program-specific licensing information.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Mid-Plains Community College at (800) 658-4308 or through its website at https://www.mpcc.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?181312 to compare similar institutions.

Nearby trade and career schools in Nebraska

See all trade and career schools in Nebraska or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →