Career Training Path › Virginia › Northern Virginia Community College
Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale, Virginia · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 4001 Wakefield Chapel Rd, Annandale, VA 22003 · Phone: (703) 323-3000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Northern Virginia Community College is a public trade and career school in Annandale, Virginia offering auto mechanic, radiology, and medical assistant programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Northern Virginia Community College has a 33.1% completion rate, below the state average of 57.1%, with median graduate debt of $11,000 and median earnings of $53,557 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Northern Virginia Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 20.2% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $36,540 | $59,330 | $76,540 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $60,000 | $80,670 | $95,870 |
| Medical assistants | $37,090 | $44,740 | $46,570 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $39,760 | $59,730 | $73,440 |
| Dental hygienists | $86,730 | $102,950 | $119,690 |
| Medical records specialists | $37,630 | $53,290 | $64,950 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $36,540 | $45,420 | $50,390 |
| Dental assistants | $37,720 | $46,670 | $53,040 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $43,010 | $63,270 | $77,270 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $42,520 | $59,180 | $65,400 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $45,250 | $61,090 | $70,460 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Virginia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 46 | $37,471 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 45 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 32 | $58,587 | $57,657 | $12,000 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Associate degree | 24 | $74,638 | $69,757 | $20,250 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 21 | $41,037 | $54,778 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 21 | $61,129 | $38,829 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 20 | $58,587 | $57,657 | $12,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 19 | $58,587 | $57,657 | $12,000 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 19 | $41,037 | $54,778 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 13 | not reported | $38,289 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Northern Virginia Community College is a public college located in Annandale, Virginia, serving a large suburb setting. The school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and dental programs carry accreditation from the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. Among its 17 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in auto mechanic schools (91), radiology and sonography programs (51), and medical assistant programs (40).
Federal data show a completion rate of 33.1%, which is below the state average of 57.1%. Graduates who took on debt carried a median of $11,000, and median earnings ten years after entry were $53,557. Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 20.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a portion of the student body has demonstrated financial need.
This campus may suit students seeking career-focused trade credentials such as auto mechanics, radiology, or medical assisting, though exact program lengths are not detailed here. Adult learners and career changers should confirm scheduling and program length directly with the school, since that information is not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students can verify accreditation status and outcome figures through the school's accreditors or by reviewing the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Northern Virginia Community College offers 17 program families, with the most credentials awarded in auto mechanic schools, radiology and sonography programs, and medical assistant programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with its dental programs also accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 33.1%, which is below the Virginia state average of 57.1%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates who borrowed carried a median debt of $11,000, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $53,557, per the College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (703) 323-3000 or visit https://www.nvcc.edu/ for current figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for in-state residents and different accountability structures than for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm schedules for specific programs.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?232946.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers short-format trade fields like auto mechanics and medical assisting alongside longer allied health programs, but specific fit for adult schedules is not reported in federal data; contact the school to discuss options.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Northern Virginia Community College at (703) 323-3000 or through its website, https://www.nvcc.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative placement or trade-specific rankings are not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard to compare completion rates and earnings with other schools directly.
Nearby trade and career schools in Virginia
- Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic MassageFalls Church, VA · career school
- Avi Career TrainingGreat Falls, VA · 86% completion
- CJ Hair SchoolFairfax, VA · career school
- ECPI UniversityVirginia Beach, VA · university
- Tidewater Community CollegeNorfolk, VA · 32% completion
- Tidewater Tech-TradesNorfolk, VA · 71% completion
- Advanced Technology InstituteVirginia Beach, VA · 79% completion
- Central Virginia Community CollegeLynchburg, VA · 45% completion
See all trade and career schools in Virginia or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.