Career Training Path

Career Training Path › California › Oxnard College

Oxnard College

Oxnard, California · Public community college · Training programs available:

Auto mechanic schoolsDental assistant schoolsCulinary & pastry schoolsDental hygiene programsEMT & paramedic training
34%completion rate · California avg 64%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$34,643median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$41,393median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation (Accredited)
Address: 4000 S Rose Ave, Oxnard, CA 93033 · Phone: (805) 986-5800 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Oxnard College is a public trade and career school in Oxnard, California, offering auto mechanic, dental assistant, and culinary programs, accredited by the ACCJC.

Oxnard College has a 34.2% completion rate, below the state average of 64.2%, and median graduate earnings of $41,393 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Oxnard College; contact the school for current tuition. It participates in federal financial aid, and 37.4% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Oxnard College Oxnard College: 34.2% 34.2% California average California average: 64.2% 64.2% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$38,180$64,980$77,060
Dental assistants$38,790$50,110$60,670
Chefs and head cooks$37,380$64,500$81,040
Dental hygienists$102,090$124,930$132,120
Emergency medical technicians$38,740$46,380$59,180

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in California (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 137 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 27 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 21 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 20 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 16 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 16 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 14 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 1–2 years 10 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 6 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 1–2 years 1 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Oxnard College is a public community college located in Oxnard, California. It is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, with its dental hygiene program also accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation. The school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help pay for their education. Among its 13 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in auto mechanic schools, dental assistant schools, and culinary & pastry schools.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 34.2%, which is below the California state average of 64.2%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $41,393. About 37.4% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of lower-income students. Median debt of graduates and annual cost of attendance are not reported for this campus in federal data.

With 276 trade completers out of an undergraduate enrollment of 6,240, Oxnard College serves a large, mixed student body in a midsize city setting. Its program mix, spanning short career-training certificates like dental assisting and culinary arts to more involved associate-level offerings such as dental hygiene, may suit both first-time students and adult career changers, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and outcome data directly through the accreditor and the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Oxnard College offers 13 program families, with the most completions in auto mechanic schools, dental assistant schools, and culinary & pastry schools.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, Oxnard College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, and its dental hygiene program is accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, Oxnard College participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 34.2%, which is below the California state average of 64.2%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or check the College Scorecard for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are $41,393, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Oxnard College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition costs than for-profit schools and eligibility for state funding support.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school at (805) 986-5800 or visit its website for program schedules.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the ACCJC and review federal outcome data via the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?120421.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a mix of short career-training programs, such as dental assisting, and longer associate-level programs like dental hygiene, though specific scheduling details for adult learners are not reported here.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Oxnard College at (805) 986-5800 or through its website, https://www.oxnardcollege.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates and earnings across institutions.

Other trade and career schools in Oxnard, CA

See all trade and career schools in California or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →