Career Training Path › Colorado › Paul Mitchell the School-Denver
Paul Mitchell the School-Denver
Lakewood, Colorado · Private for-profit career school · Training programs available:
Address: 405 South Teller Street, Lakewood, CO 80226 · Phone: (303) 233-1733 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Paul Mitchell the School-Denver is a private for-profit trade school in Lakewood, CO offering cosmetology and esthetician programs, accredited by NACCAS.
Paul Mitchell the School-Denver has a 77.8% completion rate, above the Colorado state average of 69.2%, and graduates carry a median debt of $9,783, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus.
Annual cost of attendance at Paul Mitchell the School-Denver is $29,544, and federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here, with 46.8% of students receiving Pell.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $31,520 | $37,690 | $59,710 |
| Skincare specialists | $31,940 | $54,500 | $76,520 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Colorado (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 89 | $21,202 | $22,681 | $9,833 |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 64 | $21,202 | $22,681 | $9,833 |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Paul Mitchell the School-Denver is a private for-profit trade school located in Lakewood, Colorado, a large suburb. It is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and students may use federal financial aid (Title IV) to help pay for their education. The campus awards credentials primarily in two program families: cosmetology schools (89 completers) and esthetician schools (64 completers), for a total of 153 trade completers among 213 undergraduate students.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 77.8%, above the Colorado state average of 69.2%. Graduates carry a median debt of $9,783. Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $29,544, and 46.8% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of lower-income enrollment.
This campus offers short, focused programs in cosmetology and esthetics rather than multi-year associate degrees, which may suit students seeking a faster path into a licensed trade, including adults changing careers, though exact program lengths are not stated in the data provided. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and detailed outcomes directly through the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Paul Mitchell the School-Denver offers cosmetology programs (89 completers) and esthetician programs (64 completers), its two program families.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, it is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 77.8%, which is above the Colorado state average of 69.2%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $9,783 according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus in federal data; check the College Scorecard link for updates.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
The listed cost of attendance is $29,544 per year.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition pricing and financial aid terms compared to public or non-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly at (303) 233-1733 or visit its website for details.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link, https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?482176.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school offers focused cosmetology and esthetician programs rather than multi-year degrees, which may appeal to career changers seeking shorter training, though specific program lengths are not stated in the data.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing requirements for cosmetology and esthetics are not detailed in this data; contact the school or Colorado's licensing board for specifics.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Paul Mitchell the School-Denver at (303) 233-1733 or through its website, https://paulmitchell.edu/denver.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included here; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and debt across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Lakewood, CO
- Red Rocks Community CollegeLakewood, CO · college
- The Beauty Collective AcademyLakewood, CO · state-licensed school
- Westland Beauty Academy - LakewoodLakewood, CO · state-licensed school
- Colorado School of Healing ArtsLakewood, CO · 100% completion
- Dental Careers of Colorado, LLCLakewood, CO · state-licensed school
- Denver Dental Assistant School - LakewoodLakewood, CO · state-licensed school
- Emily Griffith Technical CollegeDenver, CO · 97% completion
- Aveda Institute-DenverDenver, CO · 84% completion
See all trade and career schools in Colorado or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.