Career Training Path › North Carolina › Roanoke-Chowan Community College
Roanoke-Chowan Community College
Ahoskie, North Carolina · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 109 Community College Rd, Ahoskie, NC 27910 · Phone: (252) 862-1200 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Roanoke-Chowan Community College is a public trade and career school in Ahoskie, North Carolina, offering HVAC and welding programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Roanoke-Chowan Community College has a 36.8% completion rate, below the North Carolina state average of 47.8%, and median graduate earnings of $29,324 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Roanoke-Chowan Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 32.0% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $37,780 | $57,260 | $64,310 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,540 | $50,590 | $60,870 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in North Carolina (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Roanoke-Chowan Community College is a public community college located in Ahoskie, North Carolina. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and students can use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) to help pay for programs here. The school's trade offerings are concentrated in HVAC schools (16 completers) and welding schools (4 completers), out of 3 total program families tracked, serving an undergraduate enrollment of about 309 students.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 36.8%, which is below the North Carolina state average of 47.8%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $29,324. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 32.0% of students at this campus receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income students enrolled.
This campus, situated in a fringe rural locale, appears to suit students seeking hands-on, shorter-term trade credentials in HVAC or welding rather than multi-year academic degrees, though exact program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Anyone considering enrollment, including adult career-changers, should verify current accreditation status directly with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before applying.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Roanoke-Chowan Community College offers HVAC schools (16 completers) and welding schools (4 completers), among 3 total program families tracked in federal data.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 36.8%, which is below the North Carolina state average of 47.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (252) 862-1200 or check the College Scorecard for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $29,324.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Roanoke-Chowan Community College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state funding, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (252) 862-1200 or visit its website for program schedules.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?199467.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school's focus on HVAC and welding programs suggests it may fit those seeking hands-on trade training, but specific scheduling or adult-learner accommodations are not reported in federal data; contact the school to confirm.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Roanoke-Chowan Community College at (252) 862-1200 or visit https://www.roanokechowan.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby trade schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; consult the College Scorecard to compare completion and earnings figures across schools.
Nearby trade and career schools in North Carolina
- Roanoke Chowan CCAhoskie, NC
- College of the AlbemarleElizabeth City, NC · 35% completion
- College of the AlbemarleEdenton, NC
- College of the Albemarle - District 1Edenton, NC
- Wake Technical Community CollegeRaleigh, NC · 33% completion
- NASCAR Technical InstituteMooresville, NC · 65% completion
- Cape Fear Community CollegeWilmington, NC · 35% completion
- Guilford Technical Community CollegeJamestown, NC · 31% completion
See all trade and career schools in North Carolina or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.