Career Training Path › California › San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto
San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto
Salida, California · Private for-profit career college · Training programs available:
Address: 5380 Pirrone Road, Salida, CA 95368 · Phone: (559) 734-9000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto is a private for-profit trade school in Salida, CA offering electrician, medical assistant, and pharmacy technician programs, accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, this campus has a 77.1% completion rate versus a 64.2% state average, with median graduate debt of $10,674 and median earnings of $38,317 ten years after entry.
Annual cost of attendance at San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto is $31,003, federal financial aid is available (Title IV), and 59.4% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electricians | $46,800 | $76,160 | $103,000 |
| Medical assistants | $39,290 | $49,660 | $61,870 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $42,850 | $55,110 | $65,590 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in California (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 137 | $34,243 | not reported | $11,667 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 109 | $21,439 | $21,861 | $9,500 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 20 | $21,439 | $21,861 | $9,500 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 18 | $24,416 | $23,853 | $18,250 |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 18 | not reported | not reported | $17,710 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 9 | $24,416 | $23,853 | $18,250 |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto is a private for-profit trade and career school located in Salida, California, a large suburb near Modesto. The campus is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges and is approved for federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help pay for their education. The school's most-awarded programs are electrician training, medical assistant programs, and pharmacy technician programs, with electrician schools graduating the largest number of completers.
Federal data shows this campus has a completion rate of 77.1%, which is above the California state average of 64.2%. Graduates carry a median debt of $10,674, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $38,317. The annual cost of attendance is listed at $31,003, and 59.4% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of the student body qualifies for need-based federal aid.
This campus may suit students seeking focused, program-specific training in trades like electrical work or healthcare support roles such as medical assisting and pharmacy technician work, rather than a traditional multi-year degree path. Whether a specific program fits an adult career-changer's schedule and format is not detailed here beyond program family; prospective students should contact the school directly to confirm program length and format. To verify accreditation status and outcomes independently, check with the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges and review the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard for this campus.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
The campus's top programs are electrician schools, medical assistant programs, and pharmacy technician programs, with 6 total programs offered. Electrician training has the highest number of completers among these.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, it is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including federal loans and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 77.1%, which is above the California state average of 64.2%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt among graduates is $10,674, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,317, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
The annual cost of attendance is reported as $31,003.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a private for-profit school. That designation can affect tuition pricing, aid eligibility rules, and institutional funding sources compared to public or non-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in the data provided; contact the school at (559) 734-9000 or via https://www.sjvc.edu/ to confirm program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges and review official outcome data via the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?447351.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data shows focused program families like electrician and healthcare support training, but specific scheduling or format details for career-changers are not reported in federal data; contact the school directly to ask.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (559) 734-9000 for program-specific certification information.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach San Joaquin Valley College-Modesto by phone at (559) 734-9000 or visit https://www.sjvc.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; use the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?447351 to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across schools.
Nearby trade and career schools in California
- Truck Nation School-ModestoSalida, CA
- Merced CollegeMerced, CA · 36% completion
- Modesto Junior CollegeModesto, CA · college
- Milan Institute-MercedMerced, CA · 55% completion
- Stellar Career CollegeModesto, CA · 79% completion
- Paul Mitchell the School-ModestoModesto, CA · 80% completion
- North Adrian's College of Beauty IncModesto, CA · 70% completion
- Sierra College of BeautyMerced, CA · 84% completion
See all trade and career schools in California or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.