Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

Houston, Texas · Private for-profit career school

Auto mechanic schoolsCNC & machining programs
93%completion rate · Texas avg 64%
$9,500median debt of graduates
$47,526median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$57,529median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$33,348annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (Accredited)
Address: 1911 Antoine Drive, Houston, TX 77055 · Phone: (713) 683-3817 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is a private for-profit trade school in Houston, TX offering auto mechanic and CNC/machining programs, accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, School of Automotive Machinists & Technology has a 92.9% completion rate versus a 63.5% state average, with median graduate debt of $9,500 and median earnings of $57,529 ten years after entry.

Annual cost of attendance at School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is reported at $33,348, and the school accepts federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants, with 41.5% of students receiving Pell.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
School of Automotive … School of Automotive …: 92.9% 92.9% Texas average Texas average: 63.5% 63.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$29,360$48,310$62,270
Machinists$38,600$59,180$69,800

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 50 $26,843 $32,569 $9,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 35 $26,843 $32,569 $9,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 2–4 years 24 $26,843 $32,569 $9,500
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 23 $39,202 $39,729 $16,354
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 6 not reported $30,771 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is a private, for-profit trade school in Houston, Texas. It is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and students can use federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, to attend. The campus awards the most credentials in auto mechanic training and CNC & machining programs, offering five program tracks total.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 92.9%, well above the Texas state average of 63.5%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $9,500, and median earnings ten years after entry were $57,529. The annual cost of attendance is reported at $33,348, and 41.5% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share come from lower-income backgrounds.

With 138 trade completers against an undergraduate enrollment of 88, this campus appears geared toward focused, hands-on training in automotive and machining trades rather than broad academic study. This structure may suit career changers seeking a defined technical path, though specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

The campus offers programs in auto mechanic training and CNC & machining, with five program tracks total. Auto mechanic programs serve the most students, followed by CNC & machining.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 92.9%, compared to a Texas state average of 63.5%, putting this campus above the state average.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt among graduates is reported at $9,500.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $57,529.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The reported annual cost of attendance is $33,348.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition levels and financial aid terms compared to public or non-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (713) 683-3817 or visit https://samtech.edu/ for details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?377218.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The school's focused programs in automotive and machining trades, combined with a relatively small enrollment of 88, suggest a hands-on setting, though specific fit for adult learners is not reported in federal data; contact the school to discuss your situation.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach the school by phone at (713) 683-3817 or visit https://samtech.edu/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Federal data does not provide direct comparisons to other schools; prospective students can use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across schools.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →