Career Training Path › North Carolina › Southwestern Community College
Southwestern Community College
Sylva, North Carolina · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 447 College Drive, Sylva, NC 28779 · Phone: (828) 339-4000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Southwestern Community College is a public trade and career school in Sylva, North Carolina, offering medical assistant, welding, and medical billing & coding programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Southwestern Community College has a 53.1% completion rate, above the state average of 47.8%, with median graduate debt of $10,500 and median earnings of $34,145 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Southwestern Community College; the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid, and about 36.2% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical assistants | $36,010 | $45,140 | $47,500 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,540 | $50,590 | $60,870 |
| Medical records specialists | $36,840 | $49,620 | $64,800 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $26,880 | $38,410 | $48,300 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $31,500 | $48,200 | $63,170 |
| Construction laborers | $31,850 | $44,720 | $49,070 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $52,860 | $74,450 | $83,340 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $38,210 | $61,130 | $76,330 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $37,780 | $57,260 | $64,310 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $35,190 | $44,250 | $49,310 |
| Massage therapists | $31,050 | $60,650 | $85,150 |
| Nursing assistants | $30,260 | $38,460 | $43,850 |
| Surgical technologists | $45,990 | $60,920 | $68,520 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in North Carolina (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 26 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 15 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 13 | not reported | $14,935 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 11 | $41,181 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 11 | $26,779 | $27,126 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 10 | $40,293 | $46,321 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 8 | $40,293 | $46,321 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 8 | $41,181 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | $14,935 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 6 | $40,293 | $46,321 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | $26,353 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 5 | $40,293 | $46,321 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Associate degree | 3 | $12,328 | $15,182 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 1 | $41,181 | $33,993 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Southwestern Community College is a public trade and career training campus in Sylva, North Carolina. The school participates in federal student aid (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA-based aid to help cover costs. It holds accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with program-specific accreditors including the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education, the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Across its 28 programs, the campus awards the most credentials in medical assistant programs, welding, and medical billing & coding.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 53.1%, which is above the North Carolina state average of 47.8%. Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,145. Roughly 36.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of the student body qualifies for need-based aid. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With 1,249 undergraduates and 231 trade program completers reported, and a locale described as a distant town, this campus setting may suit students looking for programs outside a major metro area, including those changing careers who want shorter, skills-focused training alongside longer allied-health programs. Program length for specific offerings is not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and outcomes directly through the College Scorecard and by contacting the school.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Southwestern Community College offers 28 programs across families including medical assistant, welding, medical billing & coding, cosmetology, auto mechanics, construction trades, radiology tech, culinary, HVAC, EMT, massage therapy, CNA, and surgical tech. The top programs by completions are medical assistant programs, welding schools, and medical billing & coding programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with program-specific accreditors such as the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education, the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal student aid, so eligible students can use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants. About 36.2% of students here receive Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 53.1%, which is above the North Carolina state average of 47.8%, per federal data.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,145, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for Title IV federal aid, as confirmed here.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm specific program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation status and review federal outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?199731, or by contacting the school at (828) 339-4000 or visiting https://www.southwesterncc.edu/.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers a broad mix of short career-training programs, such as welding, HVAC, and medical assistant training, in a distant-town setting; specific fit for adult learners depends on schedule details not reported here, so contact the school to confirm.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing and certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to learn what credentials specific programs prepare you for.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Southwestern Community College at (828) 339-4000 or through its website, https://www.southwesterncc.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative placement or ranking data against other nearby schools is not reported in federal data; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across schools directly.
Nearby trade and career schools in North Carolina
- Blue Ridge Community CollegeFlat Rock, NC · 50% completion
- McDowell Technical Community CollegeMarion, NC · 48% completion
- Mayland Community CollegeSpruce Pine, NC · 46% completion
- Haywood Community CollegeClyde, NC · 34% completion
- Carolina CDL Training CenterCandler, NC
- Wake Technical Community CollegeRaleigh, NC · 33% completion
- NASCAR Technical InstituteMooresville, NC · 65% completion
- Cape Fear Community CollegeWilmington, NC · 35% completion
See all trade and career schools in North Carolina or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.