Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio

The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio

San Antonio, Texas · Private for-profit

Medical assistant programsDental assistant schoolsPharmacy technician programsMedical billing & coding programs
73%completion rate · Texas avg 64%
$9,500median debt of graduates
$31,970median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$33,070median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$34,322annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education | Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (Accredited)
Address: 1964 SW Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78221 · Phone: (210) 957-3826 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is a private for-profit trade school in San Antonio, TX offering medical assistant, dental assistant, and pharmacy technician programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, this campus has a 72.7% completion rate versus a 63.5% state average, with median graduate debt of $9,500 and median earnings of $33,070 ten years after entry.

Annual cost of attendance at this campus is $34,322, and it participates in federal financial aid programs, with 76.2% of students receiving Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
The College of Health… The College of Health…: 72.7% 72.7% Texas average Texas average: 63.5% 63.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$31,200$39,520$46,180
Dental assistants$35,400$45,430$48,280
Pharmacy technicians$35,920$45,900$48,960
Medical records specialists$34,440$48,860$63,970

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 133 $22,814 $23,535 $9,428
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 59 $21,679 $21,744 $6,361
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 38 $22,814 $23,535 $9,428
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 1–2 years 23 $22,834 $25,739 $9,500

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →

About this school

The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is a private for-profit trade school located in San Antonio, Texas. It is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools, and it participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning students may use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for enrollment. The campus offers four program families, with its most-completed programs being medical assistant programs (133 completers), dental assistant schools (59 completers), and pharmacy technician programs (38 completers).

According to federal data, the campus has a completion rate of 72.7%, which is above the state average of 63.5%. Graduates carry a median debt of $9,500 and report median earnings of $33,070 ten years after entry. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $34,322, and 76.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a largely low-income student population. Enrollment stands at 419 undergraduates with 253 trade completers reported.

This campus may suit students seeking short, credential-focused health care training rather than a multi-year associate or bachelor's degree, though exact program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students, including career changers, should verify current accreditation status directly with the accreditors and review updated outcome figures on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling, since some details such as program schedules and licensing requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

The campus offers four program families, most notably medical assistant programs, dental assistant schools, and pharmacy technician programs, with medical billing and coding also available.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools, with accreditation status listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants toward enrollment.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 72.7%, which is above the Texas state average of 63.5%, according to federal data.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt among graduates is reported at $9,500 in federal Scorecard data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $33,070, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The reported annual cost of attendance is $34,322.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit institution, which can mean different pricing and outcomes patterns than public or non-profit schools; prospective students should compare cost and outcome data carefully.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (210) 957-3826 or visit chcp.edu for details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation with the Council on Occupational Education or Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools, and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?492722.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The program mix of medical assistant, dental assistant, and pharmacy technician training suggests shorter, credential-focused training, which may suit career changers, though this inference is not confirmed by explicit program-length data.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm requirements for specific programs.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach the campus by phone at (210) 957-3826 or through its website, https://chcp.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data against other nearby schools is not reported in this listing; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →