Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Houston, Texas · Public

Dental hygiene programs
not reportedcompletion rate · Texas avg 64%
$13,063median debt of graduates
$89,371median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$88,757median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and D | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation | Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education | Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs | Liaison Committee on Medical Education | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 7000 Fannin, Houston, TX 77030 · Phone: (713) 500-4472 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

UT Health Science Center at Houston is a public trade/career school in Houston, TX offering dental hygiene programs, accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and others.

Graduates of UT Health Science Center at Houston carry a median debt of $13,063 and earn a median of $88,757 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard; the state average completion rate for comparison is 63.5%, but this campus's own completion rate is not reported.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for UT Health Science Center at Houston; contact the school for current tuition. About 50.9% of students receive Pell Grants, and federal financial aid can be used here.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Dental hygienists$71,530$99,240$107,320

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 2–4 years 2 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is a public university located in Houston, Texas, operating in a large-city setting. It participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), meaning students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help pay for their education. The campus holds accreditation from several bodies, including the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, and the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics. Within the trade and career-training data reported for this campus, the primary program family is dental hygiene, with two dental hygiene programs listed as the top programs and two completers reported.

Federal completion-rate data specific to this campus is not reported for this campus in federal data, though the state average completion rate for comparable programs is 63.5%, and no direct comparison value is reported. Graduates carry a median debt of $13,063, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $88,757. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 50.9% of students receive Pell Grants, suggesting a meaningful share of the student population qualifies for need-based aid.

Based on the program list, this campus centers on dental hygiene training within a larger public university enrolling 465 undergraduates overall. Anyone considering enrollment, especially adult students weighing a career change, should verify current accreditation status directly with the listed accreditors and review full outcome details through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before applying.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

This campus's federal trade-program data lists dental hygiene programs as its top program family, with two dental hygiene programs reported and two completers.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited. Listed accreditors include the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the Commission on Dental Accreditation, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, and the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

This campus's completion rate is not reported for this campus in federal data. The state average completion rate is 63.5%, but a direct comparison value is not reported.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates of this campus carry a median debt of $13,063, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $88,757, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (713) 500-4472 or visit https://www.uth.edu/ for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which typically means it receives state funding and may offer lower tuition rates than private for-profit institutions, though specific tuition is not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm the duration of its dental hygiene programs.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation directly with the listed accrediting bodies and review detailed federal outcome data at the College Scorecard page: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?229300.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not specify program length or scheduling format, so fit for adult career-changers is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to discuss options.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements after completing a program here are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for details specific to its dental hygiene programs.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach the school by phone at (713) 500-4472 or visit its website at https://www.uth.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data against nearby schools offering dental hygiene programs is not reported for this campus in federal data; consult the College Scorecard for side-by-side comparisons.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →