Career Training Path › North Carolina › Tri-County Community College
Tri-County Community College
Murphy, North Carolina · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 21 Campus Circle, Murphy, NC 28906 · Phone: (828) 837-6810 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Tri-County Community College is a public trade and career school in Murphy, North Carolina, offering welding, cosmetology, and auto mechanic programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Tri-County Community College has a 54.3% completion rate, above the North Carolina state average of 47.8%, and graduates earn a median of $32,232 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; the school participates in Title IV, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used, and about 28.9% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,540 | $50,590 | $60,870 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $26,880 | $38,410 | $48,300 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $31,500 | $48,200 | $63,170 |
| Skincare specialists | $25,570 | $39,120 | $57,000 |
| Medical assistants | $36,010 | $45,140 | $47,500 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $35,190 | $44,250 | $49,310 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $38,210 | $61,130 | $76,330 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $37,780 | $57,260 | $64,310 |
| Electricians | $40,130 | $56,800 | $61,920 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in North Carolina (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | $21,964 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 4 | not reported | $21,508 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | $21,964 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Tri-County Community College is a public community college in Murphy, North Carolina, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Because it participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants to help pay for enrollment. The campus offers 13 trade and career programs across fields like welding, cosmetology, auto mechanics, esthetics, medical assisting, EMT training, culinary arts, HVAC, and electrical work, with welding, cosmetology, and auto mechanic programs making up the largest share of completions.
On federal outcome measures, Tri-County's completion rate is 54.3%, above the North Carolina state average of 47.8% for similar programs. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are $32,232. Median debt for graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 28.9% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income enrollment.
Located in a remote rural locale, this campus may suit local residents and career changers seeking hands-on, shorter-term trade credentials rather than a traditional four-year path, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Adults returning to school for a new trade should confirm program format and schedule directly with admissions. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcomes data, prospective students can check the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools directly or search Tri-County Community College on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Tri-County Community College offers 13 programs across fields including welding, cosmetology, auto mechanics, esthetics, medical assisting, EMT training, culinary arts, HVAC, and electrical work. Welding, cosmetology, and auto mechanic programs account for the largest number of completions.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, Tri-County Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and its accreditation status is listed as active.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 54.3%, which is above the North Carolina state average of 47.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (828) 837-6810 or check the College Scorecard for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are $32,232, per federal Scorecard data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school directly at (828) 837-6810 or visit tricountycc.edu for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Tri-County Community College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state funding, in addition to federal aid.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration for individual trades.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review completion, debt, and earnings data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at the link provided by the school.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school's mix of shorter trade programs like welding and cosmetology may suit adults seeking hands-on career training, though specific schedule and format details are not reported here; contact admissions to confirm fit.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Tri-County Community College at (828) 837-6810 or visit https://www.tricountycc.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on other nearby trade schools is not included in this listing; prospective students can use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates and earnings across schools.
Nearby trade and career schools in North Carolina
- Wake Technical Community CollegeRaleigh, NC · 33% completion
- NASCAR Technical InstituteMooresville, NC · 65% completion
- Cape Fear Community CollegeWilmington, NC · 35% completion
- Guilford Technical Community CollegeJamestown, NC · 31% completion
- Central Piedmont Community CollegeCharlotte, NC · 31% completion
- Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeFayetteville, NC · 24% completion
- Pitt Community CollegeWinterville, NC · 35% completion
- Forsyth Technical Community CollegeWinston-Salem, NC · 34% completion
See all trade and career schools in North Carolina or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.