Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Puerto Rico › University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

Ponce, Puerto Rico · Public university · Training programs available:

Medical assistant programs
not reportedcompletion rate · Puerto Rico avg 69%
$5,500median debt of graduates
$22,404median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$31,394median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Middle States Commission on Higher Education | National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (Accredited)
Address: 2151 Santiago de los Caballeros Avenue, Ponce, PR 00716 · Phone: (787) 844-8181 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is a public trade/career school in Ponce, PR offering medical assistant programs, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, graduates carry a median debt of $5,500 and earn a median of $31,394 ten years after entry; this campus's completion rate versus the state average of 69.2% is not reported.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for University of Puerto Rico at Ponce; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here (Title IV), and 82.6% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$22,380$46,120$59,990

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Puerto Rico (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 13 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is a public college located in Ponce, PR, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. The school participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help cover costs. Among its trade and career offerings, the campus's most notable program is in medical assistant programs, with 13 completers reported in the most recent federal data.

Federal Scorecard data show the campus enrolls 2,278 undergraduates overall. The state average completion rate is 69.2%, though this campus's own completion rate and its comparison to the state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates in medical assistant programs carry a median debt of $5,500, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $31,394. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Notably, 82.6% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a large share of low-income students at this institution.

This campus may suit students seeking a shorter, credential-focused path into medical assisting rather than a multi-year degree, though specific program length is not reported for this campus in federal data, so prospective students should confirm scheduling and format directly with the school. To verify accreditation status and review the latest outcome figures, prospective students can consult the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard or contact the university directly. As with any career-training decision, comparing debt and earnings data across similar programs is a reasonable step before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

The campus offers medical assistant programs, with 13 program completers reported in federal data.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, with a status of Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so eligible students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The campus's own completion rate and its comparison to the state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. The state average completion rate is 69.2%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt for graduates is $5,500, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $31,394, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which can affect tuition rates, funding sources, and eligibility for certain financial aid programs compared to private institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm scheduling and duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation and review outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?243212, or contact the school directly.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

This is not something federal data can confirm directly, but adult career-changers should confirm program format and schedule flexibility directly with the school at (787) 844-8181 or via https://www.uprp.edu/.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach the school by phone at (787) 844-8181 or visit its website at https://www.uprp.edu/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

This comparison is not reported for this campus in federal data; prospective students can use the College Scorecard to compare similar programs at other institutions.

Other trade and career schools in Ponce, PR

See all trade and career schools in Puerto Rico or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →