Career Training Path
Students training in a cna program

Career Training PathCNA classes › West Virginia

CNA classes in West Virginia

West Virginia has 2 accredited campuses awarding cna credentials. If you finish and work as a nursing assistant in West Virginia, expect to start around $31,060–$35,460 and reach a median of $36,720 with experience; the top quarter earn $38,410 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, West Virginia). Graduates of these West Virginia programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $17,810 in their first year, against $22,196 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What nursing assistants earn in West Virginia

$31,060starting (10th percentile)
$35,460early career (25th)
$36,720median, all experience
$38,410experienced (75th)
$45,290top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 9,390 employed in West Virginia. National median: $42,260.

Campuses in West Virginia, ranked by what their graduates earned

2campuses in West Virginia
28credentials awarded / yr
$17,810median earnings, yr 1 (West Virginia)
$22,196median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: ParkersburgWheeling

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
West Virginia Northern Community College Wheeling Public 23 $17,810 $5,250 33% not reported
West Virginia University at Parkersburg Parkersburg Public 5 not reported not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

Other trades in West Virginia

All trade and career schools in West Virginia →

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →