Career Training Path › Diesel mechanic schools › Puerto Rico
Diesel mechanic schools in Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico has 5 accredited campuses awarding diesel tech credentials. If you finish and work as a diesel technician in Puerto Rico, expect to start around $24,010–$29,650 and reach a median of $40,110 with experience; the top quarter earn $56,540 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Puerto Rico). Graduates of these Puerto Rico programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $15,898 in their first year, against $37,506 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists earn in Puerto Rico
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 930 employed in Puerto Rico. National median: $61,770.
Campuses in Puerto Rico, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AguadillaBayamonCaguasPonce
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mech-Tech College | Caguas | for-profit | 143 | $18,723 | $3,500 | 72% | not reported |
| Automeca Technical College-Bayamon | Bayamon | for-profit | 36 | $15,898 | $2,950 | 80% | not reported |
| Automeca Technical College-Aguadilla | Aguadilla | for-profit | 20 | $15,898 | $2,950 | 81% | not reported |
| Automeca Technical College-Caguas | Caguas | for-profit | 14 | $15,898 | $2,950 | 85% | not reported |
| Automeca Technical College-Ponce | Ponce | for-profit | 10 | $15,898 | $2,950 | 73% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.