Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Puerto Rico › Automeca Technical College-Caguas

Automeca Technical College-Caguas

Caguas, Puerto Rico · Private for-profit career college · Training programs available:

Auto mechanic schoolsDiesel mechanic schoolsHVAC schools
85%completion rate · Puerto Rico avg 69%
$3,030median debt of graduates
$21,983median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$24,632median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (Accredited)
Address: Calle Munoz Rivera No.69, Caguas, PR 00725 · Phone: (787) 746-3468 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Automeca Technical College-Caguas is a private for-profit trade school in Caguas, PR offering auto mechanic, diesel mechanic, and HVAC programs, accredited by ACCSC.

Automeca Technical College-Caguas has an 85.1% completion rate, above the state average of 69.2%, with median graduate debt of $3,030 and median earnings of $24,632 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid, and 96.4% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Automeca Technical Co… Automeca Technical Co…: 85.1% 85.1% Puerto Rico average Puerto Rico average: 69.2% 69.2% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$21,840$22,680$28,780
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$24,010$40,110$56,540
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$24,010$31,480$37,460

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Puerto Rico (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 67 $15,898 $14,164 $2,950
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 14 $15,898 $14,164 $2,950
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 7 $25,626 not reported $2,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 4 $15,898 $14,164 $2,950

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Automeca Technical College-Caguas is a private for-profit trade school located in Caguas, Puerto Rico, a small city setting. The school is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and it participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, meaning students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants to help pay for their education. The campus awards the most programs in auto mechanic training, followed by diesel mechanic and HVAC programs, out of four total program families offered.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 85.1%, which is above the state average of 69.2% for comparable programs in Puerto Rico. Graduates carry a median debt of $3,030, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $24,632. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. A high share of students, 96.4%, receive Pell Grants, indicating this campus serves a largely low-income student population.

This campus may suit students interested in short, hands-on technical training in automotive, diesel, or HVAC trades rather than longer associate degree programs, though specific program lengths are not reported here. Given the concentration in mechanical trades, it may appeal to career changers seeking entry into skilled trade work, though this is inferred only from the program mix and not stated directly. Prospective students should verify accreditation status and review current outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Automeca Technical College-Caguas offers four program families, with the most students enrolled in auto mechanic (71), diesel mechanic (14), and HVAC (7) programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 85.1%, which is above the Puerto Rico state average of 69.2%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $3,030, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are $24,632, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Automeca Technical College-Caguas is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition costs and financial aid structure compared to public or non-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (787) 746-3468 or visit its website for specifics.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?419712.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

This is not explicitly reported in federal data, but the focus on auto mechanic, diesel mechanic, and HVAC training suggests a hands-on trade focus that may appeal to career changers.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for guidance on relevant industry credentials.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can contact Automeca Technical College-Caguas at (787) 746-3468 or visit https://www.automeca.com/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported in federal data; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across campuses.

Other trade and career schools in Caguas, PR

See all trade and career schools in Puerto Rico or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →