Career Training Path
Students training in a billing & coding program

Career Training PathMedical billing & coding programs › Oregon

Medical billing & coding programs in Oregon

Oregon has 10 accredited campuses awarding billing & coding credentials. If you finish and work as a medical records specialist in Oregon, expect to start around $44,260–$49,180 and reach a median of $59,000 with experience; the top quarter earn $70,610 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Oregon). Graduates of these Oregon programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $34,867 in their first year, against $26,499 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What medical records specialists earn in Oregon

$44,260starting (10th percentile)
$49,180early career (25th)
$59,000median, all experience
$70,610experienced (75th)
$81,120top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 2,560 employed in Oregon. National median: $51,140.

Campuses in Oregon, ranked by what their graduates earned

10campuses in Oregon
156credentials awarded / yr
$34,867median earnings, yr 1 (Oregon)
$26,499median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: AlbanyBendEugeneGreshamKlamath FallsOntarioOregon CityPortlandRoseburg

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Portland Community College Portland Public 15 $38,317 $20,000 18% not reported
Central Oregon Community College Bend Public 7 $34,867 not reported 25% not reported
Carrington College-Portland Portland for-profit 17 $27,711 $9,407 54% $41,390
Klamath Community College Klamath Falls Public 39 not reported not reported 43% not reported
Lane Community College Eugene Public 19 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Mt Hood Community College Gresham Public 18 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Linn-Benton Community College Albany Public 13 not reported not reported 29% not reported
Treasure Valley Community College Ontario Public 12 not reported not reported 37% not reported
Clackamas Community College Oregon City Public 8 not reported not reported 23% not reported
Umpqua Community College Roseburg Public 8 not reported not reported 31% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Oregon

All trade and career schools in Oregon →

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →