Career Training Path
Students training in a imaging tech program

Career Training Path › Radiology & sonography programs › California

Radiology & sonography programs in California

California has 54 accredited campuses awarding imaging tech credentials. If you finish and work as a radiologic technologist in California, expect to start around $70,210–$95,730 and reach a median of $121,260 with experience; the top quarter earn $137,770 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, California). Graduates of these California programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $52,916 in their first year, against $45,833 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What radiologic technologists and technicians earn in California

$70,210starting (10th percentile)
$95,730early career (25th)
$121,260median, all experience
$137,770experienced (75th)
$165,460top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 20,900 employed in California. National median: $80,110.

Campuses in California, ranked by what their graduates earned

54campuses in California
2,376credentials awarded / yr
$52,916median earnings, yr 1 (California)
$45,833median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: AlhambraAnaheimAntiochAptosBakersfieldCerritosChula VistaCosta MesaCypressFolsomFountain ValleyFresnoGlendaleLakewoodLancasterLoma LindaLong BeachLos Altos HillsLos AngelesMarysvilleMercedMoorparkOntarioParamountPasadenaRancho CucamongaRedwood CityRiversideSacramentoSan DiegoSan FranciscoSan JacintoSan JoseSan Luis ObispoSanta BarbaraSanta RosaSherman OaksStocktonTorranceWalnut

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Foothill College Los Altos Hills Public college 15 $97,367 $10,500 not reported not reported
Canada College Redwood City Public community college 13 $92,243 not reported 47% not reported
Loma Linda University Loma Linda non-profit university 42 $85,779 $17,858 not reported not reported
Merced College Merced Public community college 23 $77,678 not reported 36% not reported
Los Angeles City College Los Angeles Public community college 11 $77,642 not reported 29% not reported
Cabrillo College Aptos Public community college 33 $73,895 not reported 38% not reported
Fresno City College Fresno Public community college 34 $73,411 not reported not reported not reported
Santa Rosa Junior College Santa Rosa Public community college 43 $71,167 not reported 37% not reported
Mt San Antonio College Walnut Public community college 43 $67,750 not reported 45% not reported
Cypress College Cypress Public college 94 $65,651 not reported not reported not reported
Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts San Jose for-profit college 243 $64,350 $20,000 not reported $36,834
San Joaquin Valley College-Bakersfield Bakersfield for-profit career college 41 $58,157 $22,250 58% $27,534
Antelope Valley Community College District Lancaster Public college 10 $54,445 not reported not reported not reported
Pima Medical Institute-Chula Vista Chula Vista for-profit career college 17 $53,594 $26,923 63% $33,209
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science Los Angeles non-profit university 32 $53,570 $24,750 not reported not reported
Orange Coast College Costa Mesa Public community college 53 $52,916 not reported 48% not reported
Casa Loma College-Los Angeles Sherman Oaks non-profit college 36 $51,705 $23,979 not reported $32,018
American Career College-Ontario Ontario for-profit career college 34 $43,471 $25,240 66% $37,857
American Career College-Anaheim Anaheim for-profit career college 41 $43,204 $23,969 70% $35,751
American Career College-Los Angeles Los Angeles for-profit career college 27 $43,204 $23,969 75% $37,270
Smith Chason College Los Angeles for-profit college 154 $38,027 $22,522 not reported not reported
Platt College-Anaheim Anaheim for-profit college 82 $34,806 $19,891 not reported not reported
Platt College-Los Angeles Alhambra for-profit college 65 $34,806 $19,891 not reported not reported
Platt College-Riverside Riverside for-profit college 63 $34,806 $19,891 not reported not reported
Platt College-Ontario Ontario for-profit college 50 $34,806 $19,891 not reported not reported
CBD College Los Angeles non-profit college 130 $34,245 $24,075 not reported $28,569
North-West College-Long Beach Long Beach for-profit career college 32 $29,611 $19,511 58% $36,942
North-West College-Anaheim Anaheim for-profit career college 24 $29,611 $19,511 60% $31,922
ATI College-Whittier Whitter for-profit college 20 $26,975 $18,381 not reported $29,726
Central California School of Continuing Education San Luis Obispo for-profit career school 46 $26,489 $5,450 87% not reported
Career Care Institute Lancaster for-profit career college 31 $26,221 $9,500 71% $55,157
High Desert Medical College Lancaster for-profit career college 183 $24,182 $21,982 68% $34,844
National Polytechnic College Lakewood for-profit career college 20 $23,874 $17,489 47% $34,762
PCI College Cerritos for-profit college 50 $22,156 $17,958 not reported $33,852
Modern Technology School Fountain Valley for-profit career school 81 not reported not reported 76% $28,609
Contra Costa Medical Career College Antioch for-profit career college 54 not reported not reported 100% not reported
Sacramento Ultrasound Institute Sacramento for-profit career college 51 not reported $18,600 98% $41,256
Long Beach City College Long Beach Public community college 49 not reported not reported 30% not reported
Pasadena City College Pasadena Public community college 45 not reported not reported 48% not reported
Yuba College Marysville Public community college 40 not reported not reported 40% not reported
American Medical Sciences Center Glendale for-profit college 37 not reported not reported not reported $27,293
City College of San Francisco San Francisco Public community college 26 not reported not reported 40% not reported
Chaffey College Rancho Cucamonga Public community college 24 not reported not reported 36% not reported
El Camino Community College District Torrance Public community college 23 not reported not reported 42% not reported
Bakersfield College Bakersfield Public college 22 not reported not reported not reported not reported
San Diego Mesa College San Diego Public college 19 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Moorpark College Moorpark Public community college 16 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Santa Barbara City College Santa Barbara Public community college 16 not reported not reported 34% not reported
Integrity College of Health Pasadena for-profit college 13 not reported not reported not reported $20,178
Healthcare Career College Paramount for-profit career college 11 not reported $19,720 71% $18,873
Mt San Jacinto Community College District San Jacinto Public community college 5 not reported not reported 36% not reported
Cosumnes River College Sacramento Public community college 3 not reported not reported 40% not reported
Folsom Lake College Folsom Public community college 3 not reported not reported 44% not reported
San Joaquin Delta College Stockton Public community college 3 not reported not reported 35% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

Other trades in California

All trade and career schools in California →

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →