Career Training Path

Career Training PathCalifornia › Fresno City College

Fresno City College

Fresno, California · Public community college

Medical assistant programsConstruction trades programsWelding schoolsRadiology & sonography programsDental hygiene programsAuto mechanic schoolsDental assistant schoolsMedical billing & coding programsCulinary & pastry schoolsEMT & paramedic trainingDiesel mechanic schools
not reportedcompletion rate · California avg 64%
$4,058median debt of graduates
$30,049median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$37,361median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation | Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (Accredited)
Address: 1101 E. University Ave, Fresno, CA 93741 · Phone: (559) 442-8200 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Fresno City College is a public trade and career school in Fresno, California, offering medical assistant, construction trades, and welding programs, accredited by multiple national bodies.

The state average completion rate is 64.2%, and graduates carry a median debt of $4,058 with median earnings of $37,361 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Fresno City College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and 30.7% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$39,290$49,660$61,870
Construction laborers$40,950$60,270$78,520
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$44,520$58,060$70,400
Radiologic technologists and technicians$70,210$121,260$137,770
Dental hygienists$102,090$124,930$132,120
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$38,180$64,980$77,060
Dental assistants$38,790$50,110$60,670
Medical records specialists$43,800$61,810$80,630
Chefs and head cooks$37,380$64,500$81,040
Emergency medical technicians$38,740$46,380$59,180
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$47,180$73,950$84,740

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in California (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 88 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Certificate, 300–899 hours 52 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 48 $22,584 not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 34 $73,411 $71,351 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 26 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 24 $55,232 not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 15 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 9 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 9 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 8 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 4 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Associate degree 4 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 1–2 years 3 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Associate degree 2 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 2 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 2–4 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 1 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Fresno City College is a public trade and career training campus located in Fresno, California, and it participates in federal Title IV financial aid, meaning students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help cover costs. The school holds accreditation from multiple bodies including the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Its most-awarded programs are medical assistant programs, construction trades programs, and welding, drawn from a broad slate of 21 program families that also includes dental hygiene, auto mechanics, culinary arts, EMT training, and diesel mechanics.

In terms of outcomes, the state average completion rate is 64.2%, though this campus's own completion rate and its comparison to that state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. Median debt for graduates is $4,058, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,361, both per federal reporting. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 30.7% of students receive Pell Grants, pointing to a substantial share of lower-income enrollees among the school's 21,251 undergraduates.

With a large program count spanning short certificates and longer associate-degree tracks, this campus can suit both first-time students and adult career changers, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Anyone considering enrollment should confirm current accreditation status and outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and by contacting the school, since costs and completion figures may change from year to year.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Fresno City College offers 21 program families, with the most-awarded being medical assistant programs, construction trades programs, and welding. Other offerings include dental hygiene, auto mechanics, culinary arts, EMT training, and diesel mechanics.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, Fresno City College is accredited. Its accreditors include the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can apply for FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants and federal loans.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The state average completion rate is 64.2%, but this campus's specific completion rate and its comparison to the state average are not reported for this campus in federal data.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $4,058, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,361, per federal data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (559) 442-8200 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Fresno City College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition rates and eligibility for state as well as federal funding compared to for-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly to confirm program duration for a given trade.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status and outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?114789 or by contacting the school directly.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a wide range of program families including short certificate and longer associate-degree tracks, which may suit adults changing careers, though specific scheduling and program-length details are not reported here to confirm fit.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported in this data; check with the school or the relevant program accreditor, such as the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology for radiology tech students.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Fresno City College at (559) 442-8200 or visit https://www.fresnocitycollege.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported in this data; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →