Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Oregon › Aveda Institute-Portland

Aveda Institute-Portland

Portland, Oregon · Private for-profit career college · Training programs available:

Cosmetology schoolsEsthetician schoolsBarber schools
77%completion rate · Oregon avg 55%
$6,826median debt of graduates
$29,329median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$33,003median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (Accredited)
Address: 325 Northwest 13th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209 · Phone: (503) 294-6000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
Sanction on record, not yet lifted — Dec 2024 · Monitoring · National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences; Dec 2024 · Renewal of Accreditation.
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Aveda Institute-Portland is a private for-profit trade school in Portland, OR offering cosmetology, esthetician, and barber programs, accredited by NACCAS.

Aveda Institute-Portland has a 77.3% completion rate, above the Oregon state average of 55.4%, with median graduate debt of $6,826 and median earnings of $33,003 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Aveda Institute-Portland; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including Pell Grants used by 43.3% of students, is available here.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Aveda Institute-Portl… Aveda Institute-Portl…: 77.3% 77.3% Oregon average Oregon average: 55.4% 55.4% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$34,880$57,580$64,740
Skincare specialists$35,900$52,110$80,140
Barbers$64,310$77,430$103,800

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Oregon (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 47 $23,465 $23,917 $7,917
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 2–4 years 30 $23,465 $23,917 $7,917
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 21 $23,465 $23,917 $7,917
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 4 $23,465 $23,917 $7,917

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Aveda Institute-Portland is a private for-profit trade school located in Portland, Oregon, in a large city setting. It is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. The campus awards programs mainly in cosmetology, esthetics, and barbering, with cosmetology schools, esthetician schools, and barber schools listed as its top program families among 4 total programs offered.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 77.3%, which is above the state average of 55.4% for similar programs in Oregon. Graduates carry a median debt of $6,826, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $33,003. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 43.3% of students receive Pell Grants, reflecting a student body with meaningful need-based aid usage. Enrollment is 238 undergraduates, with 102 recorded as trade program completers.

This campus may suit students interested in shorter, hands-on programs in cosmetology, esthetics, or barbering rather than multi-year associate degrees, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Adult learners or career changers considering a shift into personal care services fields may want to confirm scheduling and format directly with the school. Prospective students should verify accreditation status and outcome data independently through the College Scorecard and by contacting the school directly, since figures such as annual cost are not reported for this campus in federal data.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Aveda Institute-Portland offers programs in cosmetology, esthetics, and barbering, with cosmetology schools, esthetician schools, and barber schools as its top programs among 4 total offerings.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 77.3%, which is above the Oregon state average of 55.4%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $6,826, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $33,003.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (503) 294-6000 or visit https://avedapdx.com/ for current tuition information.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition pricing and financial aid options compared to public or non-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and check outcome data via the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?460862.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The school's focus on cosmetology, esthetics, and barbering programs may suit adults seeking hands-on, shorter-format training, though specific scheduling details are not reported here; contact the school to confirm fit.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can contact Aveda Institute-Portland at (503) 294-6000 or through its website at https://avedapdx.com/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported here; the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?460862 can be used to compare outcomes across institutions.

Other trade and career schools in Portland, OR

See all trade and career schools in Oregon or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →