Career Training Path › Idaho › College of Eastern Idaho
College of Eastern Idaho
Idaho Falls, Idaho · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 1600 S 25th E, Idaho Falls, ID 83404 · Phone: 20853530003371 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
College of Eastern Idaho is a public trade school in Idaho Falls, Idaho, offering LPN, diesel mechanic, and welding programs, accredited by NWCCU.
College of Eastern Idaho has a 38.7% completion rate, below the state average of 71.0%; graduates carry a median debt of $12,000 and earn $42,057 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for College of Eastern Idaho; the school accepts federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants, and about 35.0% of students receive Pell.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $47,890 | $63,800 | $74,050 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $45,960 | $59,230 | $69,370 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $40,370 | $50,530 | $59,350 |
| Surgical technologists | $48,430 | $72,550 | $77,640 |
| Dental assistants | $37,430 | $45,880 | $57,690 |
| Medical assistants | $35,500 | $44,700 | $48,160 |
| Machinists | $38,450 | $58,810 | $71,070 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $34,570 | $48,420 | $62,660 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Idaho (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 22 | not reported | $31,314 | $11,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 11 | $33,570 | $31,851 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | $21,735 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | $36,521 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | $36,521 | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
College of Eastern Idaho is a public trade and career-training campus in Idaho Falls, Idaho, located in a small city setting. The school is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, with additional programmatic accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. Because it participates in Title IV, students here can use federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants. Its most-awarded programs are LPN / LVN programs (22 completions), diesel mechanic schools (12), and welding schools (11), among ten program families offered overall.
Federal data show a completion rate of 38.7%, which is below the state average of 71.0%. Graduates carry a median debt of $12,000, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $42,057. About 35.0% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of lower-income enrollment. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Total undergraduate enrollment is 1,478, with 77 trade program completers reflected in the outcomes figures.
This campus may suit students seeking shorter, hands-on trade credentials in fields like nursing support, diesel technology, or welding rather than a traditional four-year path; whether it fits an adult career-changer depends on individual program length and format, which are not detailed here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and confirm program-specific details, including licensure requirements, with the school directly before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
College of Eastern Idaho offers ten program families, with the most completions in LPN / LVN programs (22), diesel mechanic schools (12), and welding schools (11).
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, with additional programmatic accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 38.7%, which is below the Idaho state average of 71.0%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $12,000, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $42,057.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
College of Eastern Idaho is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state as well as federal aid programs.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school at its listed phone number or website to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation status and review detailed outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at the school's dedicated page.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school offers shorter, hands-on trade programs such as LPN, diesel mechanic, and welding training, which may suit career changers, though specific scheduling and format details are not reported here.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensure requirements vary by program and are not detailed in this data; prospective students should confirm requirements for fields like LPN or dental assisting directly with the school.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach College of Eastern Idaho by phone or through its website at https://www.cei.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby trade schools is not reported here; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Idaho Falls, ID
- Provo College-Idaho Falls CampusIdaho Falls, ID · college
- Austin Kade AcademyIdaho Falls, ID · 94% completion
- SAGE Truck Driving Schools Idaho FallsIdaho Falls, ID
- Snake River CDL TrainingIdaho Falls, ID
- TERI/MustangIdaho Falls, ID
- Brigham Young University-IdahoRexburg, ID · university
- Paul Mitchell the School-RexburgRexburg, ID · 85% completion
- Evans Hairstyling College-RexburgRexburg, ID · 87% completion
See all trade and career schools in Idaho or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.