Career Training Path › Arkansas › Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas
De Queen, Arkansas · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 183 College Drive, De Queen, AR 71832 · Phone: (870) 584-4471 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is a public trade and career school in De Queen, Arkansas, offering welding, auto mechanic, and LPN programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
Cossatot Community College's completion rate is 53.8%, near the Arkansas state average of 57.3%, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $33,775, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Cossatot Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 31.6% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $37,380 | $47,970 | $55,280 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $30,320 | $44,160 | $57,910 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $44,670 | $56,620 | $61,220 |
| Medical assistants | $30,840 | $37,760 | $42,900 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $23,920 | $28,830 | $33,730 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $28,370 | $36,230 | $41,670 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Arkansas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 102 | not reported | $27,281 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 33 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, under 300 hours | 28 | not reported | $27,281 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, under 300 hours | 25 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 20 | not reported | $27,281 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 20 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 9 | not reported | $48,432 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | $48,432 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is a public community college in De Queen, Arkansas, located in a remote town setting. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, and its occupational therapy assistant offerings are recognized by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education. Because it participates in Title IV, students here can use federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants. The campus offers 12 program families, with the most-awarded trade programs being welding (150 completions), auto mechanics (55 completions), and LPN/LVN programs (33 completions), alongside medical assistant, cosmetology, and EMT training.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 53.8%, which is near the Arkansas state average of 57.3%. Median earnings ten years after entry are $33,775. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 31.6% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of lower-income students attend this campus. Total undergraduate enrollment is 772, with 271 trade program completers reflected in the data.
Given its mix of short, hands-on programs like welding and auto mechanics alongside longer LPN training, this campus may suit both first-time students and adult career changers seeking a shorter path into skilled trades or healthcare support roles, though program length details are not specified here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and outcomes directly through the Higher Learning Commission and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Cossatot Community College offers 12 program families, with welding, auto mechanic, and LPN/LVN programs having the most completions. It also offers medical assistant, cosmetology, and EMT training programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, with its occupational therapy assistant program recognized by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 53.8%, which is near the Arkansas state average of 57.3%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly or check the College Scorecard for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $33,775, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (870) 584-4471 or visit its website for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public community college, which typically means lower tuition for in-state residents and eligibility for state and federal funding.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly to ask about specific program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?106795.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The mix of shorter trade programs like welding and auto mechanics alongside LPN training suggests options for career changers, though specific program lengths and schedules are not detailed in this data; contact the school to confirm fit.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Cossatot Community College at (870) 584-4471 or through its website at https://www.cccua.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
This data does not include comparisons with other nearby schools; check the College Scorecard to compare completion rates and earnings across institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in Arkansas
- University of Arkansas Hope-TexarkanaHope, AR · 57% completion
- Arkansas Trucking AcademyHope, AR
- Arkansas Trucking AcademyNashville, AR
- Hope Public SchoolsHope, AR
- Mineral Springs SchoolMineral Springs, AR
- University of Arkansas Hope-ArkansasHope, AR
- Black River Technical CollegePocahontas, AR · 55% completion
- Arkansas State University-NewportNewport, AR · 46% completion
See all trade and career schools in Arkansas or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.