Career Training Path › Maryland › Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie
Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie
Glen Burnie, Maryland · Private for-profit career school · Training programs available:
Address: 6320 Ritchie Hwy, Suite F, Glen Burnie, MD 21061 · Phone: (800) 920-4593 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie is a private for-profit trade school in Glen Burnie, Maryland offering cosmetology programs, accredited by NACCAS.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie has a 36.0% completion rate versus a 46.9% Maryland state average, with median graduate debt of $13,000 and median earnings of $25,073 ten years after entry.
Annual cost of attendance at Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie is $21,828, federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used, and 66.9% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $31,830 | $36,420 | $47,590 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Maryland (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 32 | $16,444 | $16,342 | $13,000 |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie is a private for-profit trade school located in Glen Burnie, Maryland, a large suburb. The campus is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and federal financial aid through Title IV programs, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. The school's primary offering is cosmetology, with its cosmetology program awarding 32 completions among its 77 undergraduate students.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 36.0%, which falls below the Maryland state average of 46.9%. Graduates carry a median debt of $13,000, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $25,073. The annual cost of attendance is $21,828, and 66.9% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a student population with significant financial need.
This campus centers on a single trade family, cosmetology, which typically involves a defined program length ending in licensure preparation; specific program duration is not reported for this campus in federal data. Given the concentrated Pell population and for-profit setting, this may suit students seeking a focused, single-track career program, though prospective students should independently verify accreditation status and outcomes through the school directly or via the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie offers cosmetology programs, with 32 completions reported among its 77 undergraduate students. This is the school's single program family.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 36.0%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $13,000, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $25,073, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
The annual cost of attendance is $21,828.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition levels, aid eligibility, and outcomes compared to public or non-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (800) 920-4593 or visit empire.edu for details.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through NACCAS and review federal outcome data directly at the College Scorecard: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?480310.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data shows a concentrated, single-track cosmetology program and a student body with 66.9% receiving Pell Grants, suggesting it serves career-focused students, but specific fit for career changers is not detailed in federal data; contact the school to discuss.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensure requirements are not reported in federal data; contact the school directly at (800) 920-4593 for details on cosmetology licensing.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Empire Beauty School-Glen Burnie at (800) 920-4593 or visit https://www.empire.edu/ to apply.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with nearby cosmetology schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; check the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?480310 to compare schools directly.
Nearby trade and career schools in Maryland
- PcsGlen Burnie, MD
- Aveda Institute-MarylandBel Air, MD · 97% completion
- Lincoln College of Technology-ColumbiaColumbia, MD · 68% completion
- Cortiva InstituteLinthicum, MD · 70% completion
- Anne Arundel Community CollegeArnold, MD · 31% completion
- Howard Community CollegeColumbia, MD · 24% completion
- Harford Community CollegeBel Air, MD · 39% completion
- Advanced CDL Driving AcademyColumbia, MD
See all trade and career schools in Maryland or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.