Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Montana › Highlands College of Montana Tech

Highlands College of Montana Tech

Butte, Montana · Public community college · Training programs available:

Radiology & sonography programsCNA classesConstruction trades programsAuto mechanic schoolsCNC & machining programsCDL / truck driving schoolsWelding schools
45%completion rate · Montana avg 52%
$18,750median debt of graduates
$48,356median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$54,329median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (Accredited)
Address: 25 Basin Creek Rd, Butte, MT 59701 · Phone: (406) 496-3711 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Highlands College of Montana Tech is a public trade school in Butte, Montana, offering radiology, CNA, and construction trades programs, accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, 44.7% of students complete their program, below the state average of 52.3%; median graduate debt is $18,750 and median earnings ten years after entry are $54,329.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Highlands College of Montana Tech; federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used, and 13.5% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Highlands College of … Highlands College of …: 44.7% 44.7% Montana average Montana average: 52.3% 52.3% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Radiologic technologists and technicians$55,750$77,070$82,140
Nursing assistants$36,780$40,900$47,550
Construction laborers$37,720$49,830$58,750
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$38,170$58,740$72,270
Machinists$37,940$60,920$68,760
Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers$46,040$58,870$63,660
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$43,720$55,610$63,520

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Montana (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 14 not reported $50,606 not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 300–899 hours 13 not reported not reported not reported
Carpenters Associate degree 11 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 4 not reported $38,829 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 4 not reported not reported not reported
Ground Transportation Certificate, 300–899 hours 2 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 1 not reported $38,829 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Highlands College of Montana Tech is a public trade and career campus in Butte, Montana, accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. The campus offers eight program families, with the most-awarded credentials in radiology and sonography programs, CNA classes, and construction trades programs.

For outcomes, 44.7% of students complete their program, which is below the Montana state average of 52.3%. Graduates carry a median debt of $18,750, and median earnings ten years after entry are $54,329. About 13.5% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.

This campus sits in a remote town setting and enrolls 342 undergraduates, with 51 trade program completers reported. The mix of shorter career-training programs like CNA classes alongside more technical fields such as radiology and construction trades may suit both recent high school graduates and adult career changers, though specific program lengths and schedule formats are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should confirm accreditation status directly with the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and review current outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Highlands College of Montana Tech offers eight program families, most notably radiology & sonography programs, CNA classes, and construction trades programs, along with auto mechanic, CNC machining, CDL training, and welding programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the campus is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grant funding.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 44.7%, which is below the Montana state average of 52.3%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $18,750, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are $54,329, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (406) 496-3711 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public institution, which typically means state-subsidized tuition and eligibility for federal aid programs like Title IV.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and review official outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?180081.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a mix of shorter career-training programs and more technical fields, but specific scheduling or adult-learner accommodations are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to ask directly.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or check with your state licensing board for program-specific requirements.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Highlands College of Montana Tech at (406) 496-3711 or through its website at https://www.mtech.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools offering the same trades is not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard to compare institutions directly.

Other trade and career schools in Butte, MT

See all trade and career schools in Montana or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →