Career Training Path › Virginia › J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
Richmond, Virginia · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 1651 East Parham Road, Richmond, VA 23228 · Phone: (804) 371-3000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Feb 2024 · Warning · American Dental Association; Apr 2024 · Renewal of Accreditation.
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a public trade and career school in Richmond, Virginia, offering medical billing & coding, culinary arts, and auto mechanic programs, accredited by SACS.
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College has a 32.2% completion rate, below the Virginia state average of 57.1%, with median graduate debt of $10,500 and median earnings of $39,529 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 31.9% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical records specialists | $37,630 | $53,290 | $64,950 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $43,010 | $63,270 | $77,270 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $36,540 | $59,330 | $76,540 |
| Dental assistants | $37,720 | $46,670 | $53,040 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $36,540 | $45,420 | $50,390 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $42,520 | $59,180 | $65,400 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,580 | $64,920 | $74,540 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $45,250 | $61,090 | $70,460 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Virginia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 39 | $27,584 | $27,048 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 29 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 8 | $44,412 | $49,136 | $15,076 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a public community college in Richmond, Virginia. It participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help pay for programs here. The school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with its dental program specifically accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation. Among its trade and career offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in medical billing & coding programs (39), culinary & pastry schools (38), and auto mechanic schools (20), across a total of 12 program families including welding, EMT training, LPN programs, and diesel mechanic schools.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 32.2%, which is below the Virginia state average of 57.1%. Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $39,529. About 31.9% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
This campus, located in a large suburb, may suit students pursuing shorter, career-focused certificate or associate-level training in fields like healthcare support, culinary arts, or automotive repair, though specific program lengths are not detailed in this data. Career changers should verify accreditation status and confirm current outcomes directly with the school or through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College offers 12 program families, with the most awards in medical billing & coding programs (39), culinary & pastry schools (38), and auto mechanic schools (20). It also offers welding, EMT training, LPN programs, and diesel mechanic schools.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and its dental program is accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so eligible students can use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 32.2%, which is below the Virginia state average of 57.1%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $39,529, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (804) 371-3000 or visit reynolds.edu for current tuition.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public community college, which typically means lower tuition rates for in-state residents compared to private for-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?232414.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not specify program formats or scheduling for adult learners; contact the school directly to discuss fit for career changers.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing and certification requirements are not reported in this data; contact the school for details specific to each program, such as dental assisting or EMT training.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach J Sargeant Reynolds Community College by phone at (804) 371-3000 or visit their website at reynolds.edu.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
This data does not include comparative information on nearby schools; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Richmond, VA
- Fortis College-RichmondRichmond, VA · 50% completion
- Henrico County-Saint Marys Hospital School of Practical NursingRichmond, VA · community college
- Lotus Professional CollegeRichmond, VA · college
- Empire Beauty School-RichmondRichmond, VA · 39% completion
- Bon Secours St Mary's Hospital School of Medical ImagingRichmond, VA · career school
- 5 Star Cdl Training LlcRichmond, VA
- Alliance Medical & Health Sciences College, Inc.Richmond, VA · career school
- Virginia Barber SchoolRichmond, VA · career school
See all trade and career schools in Virginia or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.