Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Louisiana › Louisiana Culinary Institute

Louisiana Culinary Institute

Baton Rouge, Louisiana · Private for-profit career college · Training programs available:

Culinary & pastry schools
73%completion rate · Louisiana avg 59%
$16,200median debt of graduates
$30,808median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$40,359median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education (Accredited)
Address: 10550 Airline Hwy, Baton Rouge, LA 70816 · Phone: (225) 769-8820 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Louisiana Culinary Institute is a private for-profit trade school in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, offering culinary and pastry programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Louisiana Culinary Institute has a 72.5% completion rate, above the state average of 59.2%, with graduates carrying a median debt of $16,200 and median earnings of $40,359 ten years after entry.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Louisiana Culinary Institute; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 38.9% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Louisiana Culinary In… Louisiana Culinary In…: 72.5% 72.5% Louisiana average Louisiana average: 59.2% 59.2% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Chefs and head cooks$32,320$45,570$59,020

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Louisiana (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 49 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Louisiana Culinary Institute is a private for-profit trade school located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, in a large suburb setting. The campus is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and participates in federal Title IV student aid, meaning students can apply for FAFSA-based aid to help pay for programs. The school's primary program family is culinary schools, with its top program being Culinary & Pastry Schools, which accounted for 49 completions.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 72.5%, which is above the state average of 59.2% for similar programs. Graduates carry a median debt of $16,200, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,359. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 38.9% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of the student body qualifies for need-based federal aid.

This campus, with only 77 undergraduate students enrolled, appears suited to those seeking focused, hands-on training in culinary and pastry arts rather than a broad general-education experience. The relatively small scale and specific program focus may appeal to career changers looking for a defined path into food service professions, though exact program lengths are not stated here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the Council on Occupational Education and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Louisiana Culinary Institute offers culinary and pastry training, with its top program being Culinary & Pastry Schools, which had 49 completions.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants, to help cover costs.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 72.5%, which is above the Louisiana state average of 59.2% for comparable programs.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $16,200, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,359.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (225) 769-8820 or visit https://www.lci.edu/ for current tuition information.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Louisiana Culinary Institute is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition structure, aid eligibility, and outcome comparisons relative to public or nonprofit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm scheduling and program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review detailed outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?449612.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The school's focused culinary and pastry program and small enrollment of 77 students may suit those seeking a concentrated hands-on path into food service, though specific program lengths and formats are not detailed in this data.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Louisiana Culinary Institute at (225) 769-8820 or through its website at https://www.lci.edu/.

Other trade and career schools in Baton Rouge, LA

See all trade and career schools in Louisiana or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →