Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Iowa › Northeast Iowa Community College

Northeast Iowa Community College

Calmar, Iowa · Public community college · Training programs available:

LPN / LVN programsDental assistant schoolsElectrician schoolsMedical assistant programsRadiology & sonography programsEMT & paramedic trainingWelding schoolsAuto mechanic schoolsDiesel mechanic schoolsHVAC schoolsMedical billing & coding programsConstruction trades programsPlumbing schoolsCNC & machining programs
51%completion rate · Iowa avg 64%
$12,000median debt of graduates
$38,805median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$41,306median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Higher Learning Commission | National League for Nursing, Commission for Nurse Education Accreditation (Accredited)
Address: 1625 Hwy 150, Calmar, IA 52132 · Phone: (844) 642-2338 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Northeast Iowa Community College is a public trade and career school in Calmar, Iowa offering LPN/LVN, dental assistant, and electrician programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Northeast Iowa Community College has a 51.4% completion rate, below Iowa's 63.6% state average, with median graduate debt of $12,000 and median earnings of $41,306 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Northeast Iowa Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including Pell Grants, can be used here, and 22.8% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Northeast Iowa Commun… Northeast Iowa Commun…: 51.4% 51.4% Iowa average Iowa average: 63.6% 63.6% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$50,550$62,630$70,840
Dental assistants$39,360$48,430$57,620
Electricians$39,770$60,860$79,970
Medical assistants$36,730$45,480$48,030
Radiologic technologists and technicians$54,360$65,930$79,390
Emergency medical technicians$35,600$40,660$47,870
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$45,590$55,090$60,200
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$36,100$50,510$67,200
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$43,710$59,680$71,570
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$43,040$60,680$75,950
Medical records specialists$38,910$50,640$61,920
Construction laborers$38,180$48,490$58,470
Plumbers, pipefitters and steamfitters$45,510$63,890$85,320
Machinists$44,500$57,540$61,530

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Iowa (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 83 $36,914 $33,993 $13,000
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 36 $27,351 $28,381 $5,500
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 22 $31,164 $29,995 $10,917
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 13 not reported $36,437 not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 1–2 years 13 $37,130 $34,704 not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Associate degree 10 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 10 $44,545 $37,928 $5,446
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 8 $39,231 $36,077 $5,500
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 7 $42,653 not reported $13,939
Carpenters Certificate, 1–2 years 7 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Associate degree 7 not reported $35,060 not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 7 not reported not reported not reported
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services Certificate, 1–2 years 6 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 6 $39,231 $36,077 $5,500
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 5 not reported $36,437 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 5 $44,545 $37,928 $5,446
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

Northeast Iowa Community College is a public trade and career-training campus located in Calmar, Iowa, in a distant rural locale. The school is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, with its nursing programs additionally accredited by the National League for Nursing, Commission for Nurse Education Accreditation. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here (Title IV eligible). Among its 17 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in LPN/LVN programs (83 completers), dental assistant schools (36 completers), and electrician schools (23 completers), alongside other trade offerings such as welding, HVAC, plumbing, diesel mechanics, and CNC machining.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 51.4%, which is below the Iowa state average of 63.6%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $12,000, and median earnings 10 years after entry were $41,306. About 22.8% of students received Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.

With 1,697 undergraduate students and 248 trade completers reported, this campus offers a range of program lengths across health, skilled trades, and technical fields, though specific program lengths are not reported here. It may suit students seeking short, hands-on credentials as well as those pursuing associate-level trade training, but individual fit should be confirmed by contacting the school directly. Prospective students can verify accreditation status through the Higher Learning Commission and review current outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Northeast Iowa Community College offers 17 program families including LPN/LVN programs, dental assistant training, electrician schools, welding, HVAC, plumbing, diesel mechanics, and CNC machining, among others. The top programs by completions are LPN/LVN (83), dental assistant (36), and electrician (23).

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Its nursing programs are additionally accredited by the National League for Nursing, Commission for Nurse Education Accreditation.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school is Title IV eligible, meaning students can use federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants. About 22.8% of students at this campus receive Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 51.4%, which is below the Iowa state average of 63.6%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates who borrowed carried a median debt of $12,000, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,306, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public institution, which typically means lower published tuition rates for in-state residents compared to for-profit schools, though actual costs are not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (844) 642-2338 or visit nicc.edu for program duration details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission and review federal outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?154110.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a range of trade and health programs, but specific fit for adult career-changers based on schedule or format is not reported in federal data; contact the school to discuss options.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements vary by program, such as LPN licensure for nursing graduates, but specific certification details are not reported in this data; contact the school for program-specific requirements.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Northeast Iowa Community College at (844) 642-2338 or visit https://www.nicc.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported here; prospective students can use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across institutions.

Nearby trade and career schools in Iowa

See all trade and career schools in Iowa or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →