Career Training Path

Career Training PathTennessee › Northeast State Community College

Northeast State Community College

Blountville, Tennessee · Public community college

EMT & paramedic trainingWelding schoolsAviation maintenance (A&P) schoolsElectrician schoolsHVAC schoolsDental assistant schoolsAuto mechanic schoolsSurgical technologist programsCNC & machining programs
33%completion rate · Tennessee avg 64%
$6,827median debt of graduates
$29,726median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$34,553median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 2425 Hwy 75, Blountville, TN 37617 · Phone: (423) 323-3191 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Northeast State Community College is a public trade school in Blountville, Tennessee offering EMT & paramedic training, welding, and aviation maintenance programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Northeast State Community College has a 33.3% completion rate, below the Tennessee state average of 64.3%, with median graduate debt of $6,827 and median earnings of $34,553 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Northeast State Community College; the school does participate in federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 36.3% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Northeast State Commu… Northeast State Commu…: 33.3% 33.3% Tennessee average Tennessee average: 64.3% 64.3% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Emergency medical technicians$29,720$40,330$48,430
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$37,840$48,040$57,450
Aircraft mechanics and service technicians$52,900$81,040$95,140
Electricians$39,600$61,090$76,060
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$38,540$55,490$65,590
Dental assistants$37,810$46,720$59,270
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$34,820$50,290$63,790
Surgical technologists$47,620$60,530$64,430
Machinists$37,560$49,600$61,220

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Tennessee (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 65 $35,301 $36,848 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 50 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 300–899 hours 28 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 20 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 19 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 19 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 12 $44,384 $46,673 not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 10 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 10 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 8 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 7 $35,301 $36,848 not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 6 $44,384 $46,673 not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 4 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Northeast State Community College is a public trade and career training campus in Blountville, Tennessee. It participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning students may use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for programs here. The college holds accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional program-specific accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. Among its 14 trade and career program families, the most-awarded programs are EMT & paramedic training, welding, and aviation maintenance (A&P) schools.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 33.3%, which is below the Tennessee state average of 64.3%. Graduates carry a median debt of $6,827, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $34,553. About 36.3% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income enrollment. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.

With 264 trade completers out of an undergraduate enrollment of 4,404, this fringe-rural campus offers a mix of shorter certificate-style trade programs and longer associate-degree pathways, though exact program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. This setting may suit both recent graduates and adult career changers seeking hands-on training, but prospective students should verify current accreditation status and outcomes directly through the college website, by phone, or via the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Northeast State Community College offers 14 trade and career program families, with the top programs being EMT & paramedic training, welding schools, and aviation maintenance (A&P) schools.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional programmatic accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students may apply for FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants and federal loans.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 33.3%, which is below the Tennessee state average of 64.3%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt for graduates is reported at $6,827.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $34,553.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Northeast State Community College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state-specific aid programs, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (423) 323-3191 or visit its website for program-specific durations.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status and review detailed outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?221908, or contact the college directly.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers both shorter trade certificate programs and longer associate-degree pathways in fields like welding, EMT training, and aviation maintenance, which may suit adult career changers, though specific program lengths and schedules are not reported in federal data.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Northeast State Community College by phone at (423) 323-3191 or through its website at https://www.northeaststate.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative placement or program-specific rankings against nearby schools are not reported in federal data; the College Scorecard link can be used to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across similar institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →