Career Training Path › Ohio › Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District
Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District
Chillicothe, Ohio · Public technical college
Address: 1410 Industrial Drive, Chillicothe, OH 45601 · Phone: 740642120031288 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, not yet lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning · Council on Occupational Education; Mar 2025 · Renewal of Accreditation. 2 sanction actions in the window.
Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District is a public trade school in Chillicothe, Ohio, offering CNA classes, EMT training, and lineman schools, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
Pickaway Ross reports a 100.0% completion rate versus a 68.8% Ohio state average, median graduate debt of $5,500, and median earnings of $46,485 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Pickaway Ross; the school accepts federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 36.8% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing assistants | $35,060 | $39,010 | $44,590 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $34,940 | $40,220 | $47,490 |
| Electrical power-line installers and repairers | $58,840 | $93,150 | $104,200 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,030 | $61,950 | $65,900 |
| Electricians | $40,750 | $64,700 | $80,500 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $38,630 | $62,510 | $78,190 |
| Medical assistants | $36,050 | $42,810 | $46,270 |
| Phlebotomists | $36,190 | $39,770 | $46,520 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,990 | $50,340 | $59,510 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Ohio (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 58 | $34,748 | $33,043 | $9,500 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 30 | $44,441 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 23 | $49,105 | $45,500 | $5,097 |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 23 | $34,748 | $33,043 | $9,500 |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 17 | $49,105 | $45,500 | $5,097 |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 9 | $30,201 | $27,295 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | not reported | $30,771 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | $44,441 | $33,993 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District is a public trade and career training campus in Chillicothe, Ohio, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and approved for federal financial aid (Title IV). The school awards training most often in CNA classes, EMT & paramedic training, and lineman schools, among ten program families that also include LPN programs, electrician schools, HVAC, medical assistant training, phlebotomy, and welding.
Federal data show a completion rate of 100.0%, well above the Ohio state average of 68.8%. Graduates who borrowed carry a median debt of $5,500, and median earnings ten years after entry are $46,485. About 36.8% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of students from lower-income backgrounds. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
This campus is set in a distant town locale and centers on shorter, occupational programs such as CNA, EMT, and lineman training rather than multi-year associate degrees, which can suit adults changing careers who want a defined credential path. Program lengths beyond that are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status with the Council on Occupational Education and review the school's full outcomes on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Pickaway Ross offers ten program families, most notably CNA classes, EMT & paramedic training, and lineman schools, along with LPN programs, electrician, HVAC, medical assistant, phlebotomy, and welding training.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 100.0%, which is above the Ohio state average of 68.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $5,500, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $46,485, per the College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at 740-642-1200 or via its website for current tuition.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility for state and federal support compared to for-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for details on individual program schedules.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review official outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?407513.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school's focus on short occupational programs like CNA, EMT, and lineman training suggests it may suit adults seeking a defined credential path, though specific scheduling and format details are not reported here.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; check with the school or relevant state licensing board for program-specific requirements.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District by phone at 740-642-1200 or visit https://www.pickawayross.com/ for application details.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.