Career Training Path › Colorado › Pickens Technical College
Pickens Technical College
Aurora, Colorado · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 500 Airport Blvd, Aurora, CO 80011 · Phone: 303344491027734 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning or Equivalent-Factors Affecting Academic Quality · Council on Occupational Education; Apr 2026 · Renewal of Accreditation.
Pickens Technical College is a public trade and career school in Aurora, Colorado, offering auto mechanic, medical assistant, and cosmetology programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education among others.
Pickens Technical College has a 75.6% completion rate, above the Colorado state average of 69.2%, and graduates earn a median of $39,210 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Pickens Technical College; contact the school for current tuition. The school accepts federal financial aid, and about 31.0% of its students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $39,550 | $61,280 | $78,300 |
| Medical assistants | $39,130 | $48,400 | $55,570 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $31,520 | $37,690 | $59,710 |
| Dental assistants | $38,500 | $48,340 | $58,340 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $44,100 | $58,590 | $69,540 |
| Skincare specialists | $31,940 | $54,500 | $76,520 |
| Construction laborers | $38,410 | $47,900 | $56,670 |
| Manicurists and pedicurists | $32,030 | $37,110 | $46,490 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,820 | $73,880 | $79,800 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $47,450 | $70,480 | $79,780 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $46,330 | $65,400 | $79,420 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $39,810 | $49,970 | $58,300 |
| Machinists | $44,650 | $60,200 | $74,110 |
| Barbers | $33,130 | $61,500 | $78,510 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Colorado (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 56 | $29,623 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 54 | $34,139 | $29,685 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 2–4 years | 44 | $24,178 | $16,730 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 38 | $26,552 | $26,353 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 34 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 32 | $24,178 | $16,730 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 31 | $24,178 | $16,730 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 29 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 24 | $34,139 | $29,685 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 23 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 21 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 11 | $29,623 | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Trades, Other | Certificate, 1–2 years | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 11 | $34,139 | $29,685 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $24,178 | $16,730 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $34,139 | $29,685 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Pickens Technical College is a public trade and career-training campus in Aurora, Colorado. The school accepts federal financial aid (Title IV), and its programs are accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Council on Occupational Education. Across 17 program offerings, the most-awarded fields are auto mechanic training, medical assistant programs, and cosmetology, alongside other trades such as welding, dental assisting, culinary arts, and diesel mechanics.
Federal data show a completion rate of 75.6%, which is above the Colorado state average of 69.2%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $39,210. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and annual cost of attendance is also not reported for this campus in federal data. About 31.0% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income students enrolled among the 686 undergraduates, with 442 recorded as trade completers.
This campus may suit students seeking hands-on, program-specific training in fields like automotive repair, cosmetology, or medical assisting rather than a traditional four-year path, though specific program lengths are not reported here and should be confirmed directly with the school. Prospective students and career changers can verify accreditation status and outcomes through the listed accreditors and the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Pickens Technical College offers 17 programs, most notably auto mechanic schools, medical assistant programs, and cosmetology schools, along with welding, dental assisting, culinary arts, diesel mechanics, and other trade fields.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, Pickens Technical College is accredited, with recognition from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Council on Occupational Education.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, meaning students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 75.6%, which is above the Colorado state average of 69.2%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or check the College Scorecard for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are $39,210, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Pickens Technical College is a public institution, which can mean lower tuition and eligibility for certain state-funded aid compared with for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school directly to confirm schedules for specific programs.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the listed accrediting bodies and review federal outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?128151.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The mix of hands-on trade programs like auto mechanics, cosmetology, and medical assisting may suit career changers, though specific scheduling and format details are not reported here and should be confirmed with the school.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Specific licensing or certification requirements are not reported in this data; contact the school at its listed phone number or website for program-specific licensing information.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Pickens Technical College by phone at 303-344-4910 (ext. 27734) or visit its website at https://www.pickenstech.org/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data against other nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; the College Scorecard link provided can be used to look up and compare other institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Aurora, CO
- Concorde Career College-AuroraAurora, CO · college
- Avalon Institute-AuroraAurora, CO · 81% completion
- Community College of AuroraAurora, CO · 34% completion
- Pima Medical Institute-AuroraAurora, CO · 72% completion
- Empire Beauty School-AuroraAurora, CO · 41% completion
- Colorado Dental Assisting School - AuroraAurora, CO · state-licensed school
- Cosmo Beauty AcademyAurora, CO · state-licensed school
- Max International Beauty SchoolAurora, CO · state-licensed school
See all trade and career schools in Colorado or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.