Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Oklahoma › Southwest Technology Center

Southwest Technology Center

Altus, Oklahoma · Public technical college · Training programs available:

Aviation maintenance (A&P) schoolsLPN / LVN programsCNA classesCosmetology schoolsAuto mechanic schoolsWelding schools
78%completion rate · Oklahoma avg 69%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$44,498median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$48,966median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$17,326annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education (Accredited)
Address: 711 W. Tamarack, Altus, OK 73521 · Phone: (580) 477-2250 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Southwest Technology Center is a public trade school in Altus, Oklahoma, offering aviation maintenance, LPN, and CNA programs, accredited by the Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education.

Southwest Technology Center has a 78.2% completion rate, above the state average of 69.1%, and median earnings of $48,966 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.

Annual cost of attendance at Southwest Technology Center is $17,326, and federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here. About 19.9% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Southwest Technology … Southwest Technology …: 78.2% 78.2% Oklahoma average Oklahoma average: 69.1% 69.1% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Aircraft mechanics and service technicians$51,130$74,390$107,700
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$45,440$58,320$62,060
Nursing assistants$29,630$35,930$38,250
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$18,980$29,650$44,260
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$29,410$46,560$64,260
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$37,860$49,720$60,790

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Oklahoma (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 33 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 23 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 22 not reported $32,925 not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 300–899 hours 20 not reported $32,925 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 12 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 12 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 11 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Southwest Technology Center is a public career and technology school in Altus, Oklahoma, accredited by the Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. The campus awards training most often in aviation maintenance (A&P), LPN/LVN nursing, and CNA classes, along with cosmetology, auto mechanics, and welding programs across seven program families.

Among the numbers reported: the completion rate is 78.2%, above the state average of 69.1%, based on 133 trade completers out of 332 undergraduate enrollees. Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,966. Annual cost of attendance is $17,326. About 19.9% of students receive Pell Grants. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data.

This setting, located in a fringe rural area, may suit students seeking shorter, hands-on trade programs such as aviation maintenance, nursing assistant, or LPN training rather than a traditional four-year path. Adult learners and career changers considering a move into a technical trade may find the program list relevant, though specific program lengths and schedules are not detailed here and should be confirmed directly with the school. To verify accreditation and outcomes independently, prospective students can check with the Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education or review the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard listing for this campus before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Southwest Technology Center offers seven program families, most notably aviation maintenance (A&P), LPN/LVN programs, and CNA classes, along with cosmetology, auto mechanics, and welding.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education, with accreditation status listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 78.2%, which is above the Oklahoma state average of 69.1%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (580) 477-2250 or check the College Scorecard for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,966, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The annual cost of attendance is $17,326.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which can affect eligibility for certain state funding and typically lower tuition compared with for-profit options, though tuition should always be confirmed directly.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly at (580) 477-2250 or visit https://www.swtech.edu/ for specifics.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?368364.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The school's program families, such as aviation maintenance, LPN, and CNA training, are commonly associated with shorter career-focused training, though specific fit for career changers is not detailed in the available data.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements for programs like LPN or CNA are not specified in the data provided; contact the school directly to learn about certification and licensing pathways.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Southwest Technology Center at (580) 477-2250 or visit their website at https://www.swtech.edu/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in the information provided; use the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?368364 to compare outcomes across institutions.

Nearby trade and career schools in Oklahoma

See all trade and career schools in Oklahoma or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →