Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › Texarkana College

Texarkana College

Texarkana, Texas · Public community college

Welding schoolsCosmetology schoolsAuto mechanic schoolsCulinary & pastry schoolsHVAC schoolsLPN / LVN programsElectrician schoolsDiesel mechanic schoolsPharmacy technician programsEMT & paramedic training
47%completion rate · Texas avg 64%
$10,500median debt of graduates
$30,371median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$34,647median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 2500 N Robison Rd, Texarkana, TX 75599 · Phone: (903) 823-3456 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Texarkana College is a public trade school in Texarkana, Texas, offering welding, cosmetology, and auto mechanic programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Texarkana College has a 46.8% completion rate, below the state average of 63.5%, with median graduate debt of $10,500 and median earnings of $34,647 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Texarkana College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 26.3% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Texarkana College Texarkana College: 46.8% 46.8% Texas average Texas average: 63.5% 63.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$38,380$53,340$64,770
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$23,580$30,680$47,180
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$29,360$48,310$62,270
Chefs and head cooks$31,380$56,080$71,870
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$38,100$57,760$69,860
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$48,910$62,240$68,410
Electricians$37,920$58,570$71,130
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$40,930$58,810$70,400
Pharmacy technicians$35,920$45,900$48,960
Emergency medical technicians$30,320$37,260$44,240

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 53 $30,014 $25,194 $8,896
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 40 not reported not reported $5,041
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 29 $33,661 $34,847 $12,000
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 1–2 years 25 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 23 not reported $20,140 $9,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 18 $29,167 not reported $6,000
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 16 $30,014 $25,194 $8,896
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 15 $29,167 not reported $6,000
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 1–2 years 9 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Associate degree 7 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 6 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Associate degree 5 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 5 $29,167 not reported $6,000
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 1 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Texarkana College is a public trade and career school in Texarkana, Texas, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and, for its nursing offerings, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. Because it participates in Title IV, students can use federal financial aid such as FAFSA and Pell Grants. Its trade training is concentrated in welding schools, cosmetology schools, and auto mechanic schools, among 20 total program offerings spanning fields like HVAC, culinary, electrician, diesel mechanic, pharmacy tech, and EMT training.

The campus enrolls about 1,502 undergraduates, with 270 trade completers reported. Its overall completion rate is 46.8%, which is below the state average of 63.5%. Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $34,647. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 26.3% of students receive Pell Grants, suggesting a meaningful share of low-income enrollment.

This campus may suit students seeking hands-on, skills-based trade programs such as welding or cosmetology rather than long academic degree tracks, though exact program lengths are not reported here. Career changers considering enrollment should verify current program details, licensing requirements, and costs directly with the school by phone or website, and can review official outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Texarkana College offers 20 trade and career programs, with the most common being welding schools, cosmetology schools, and auto mechanic schools. It also offers programs in HVAC, culinary, electrician, diesel mechanic, pharmacy tech, and EMT training.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, Texarkana College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with nursing programs also accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 46.8%, which is below the state average of 63.5%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $10,500, per federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $34,647.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school directly at (903) 823-3456 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Texarkana College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition costs for in-state students compared to for-profit trade schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status and review official outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at the provided link, or contact the school directly.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The school's focus on hands-on trade programs like welding, cosmetology, and auto mechanics may suit career changers seeking practical skills training, though specific program lengths and schedules are not reported here.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Texarkana College at (903) 823-3456 or visit https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/ for application details.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →