Career Training Path › South Dakota › Western Dakota Technical College
Western Dakota Technical College
Rapid City, South Dakota · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 800 Mickelson Dr, Rapid City, SD 57703 · Phone: (605) 718-2400 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Western Dakota Technical College is a public trade school in Rapid City, SD offering LPN/LVN, welding, and phlebotomy programs, accredited through the Higher Learning Commission.
Western Dakota Technical College has a 54.2% completion rate, below the state average of 73.8%, with median graduate debt of $15,000 and median earnings of $40,240 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; the school does participate in federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 33.1% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $40,770 | $52,750 | $61,300 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,100 | $49,440 | $59,360 |
| Phlebotomists | $31,360 | $39,560 | $43,100 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $38,670 | $51,160 | $61,610 |
| Surgical technologists | $38,450 | $59,870 | $63,900 |
| Machinists | $39,280 | $50,890 | $58,750 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $45,500 | $58,120 | $65,200 |
| Medical records specialists | $36,920 | $51,610 | $63,130 |
| Construction laborers | $35,180 | $45,710 | $48,120 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $48,420 | $61,390 | $65,940 |
| Medical assistants | $35,980 | $41,870 | $45,870 |
| Electricians | $44,320 | $61,390 | $72,450 |
| Plumbers, pipefitters and steamfitters | $39,230 | $51,620 | $62,050 |
| Dental assistants | $38,190 | $47,900 | $57,890 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $31,130 | $36,800 | $43,570 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $37,220 | $46,170 | $48,870 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in South Dakota (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 56 | $40,832 | $36,042 | $12,720 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 19 | not reported | not reported | $9,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 18 | $38,018 | $36,134 | $12,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 16 | $43,713 | $39,909 | $15,176 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 16 | $38,609 | not reported | $12,483 |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 12 | not reported | not reported | $8,250 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 11 | $38,609 | not reported | $12,483 |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 10 | not reported | $29,685 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | $26,353 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | $8,250 |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 7 | $37,211 | $31,848 | $12,000 |
| Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | not reported | not reported | $6,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 5 | $38,018 | $36,134 | $12,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 2 | $43,713 | $39,909 | $15,176 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | $26,353 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Western Dakota Technical College is a public trade and career school in Rapid City, South Dakota, located in a small-city setting. The college participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), and specific programs carry accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, with the institution overall accredited through the Higher Learning Commission. Across its 19 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in LPN/LVN programs (56 completers), welding (30), and phlebotomy (19), alongside other trade offerings such as HVAC, electrician, diesel mechanic, and medical assistant training.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 54.2%, which is below the state average of 73.8%. Median debt among graduates is reported at $15,000, and median earnings ten years after entry are $40,240. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 33.1% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income enrollment among the 753 undergraduates.
This campus may suit students pursuing shorter, occupational credentials in fields like nursing support, welding, or phlebotomy rather than long, traditional degree programs, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Career changers should confirm program schedules and length directly with the school. Prospective students can verify accreditation status and outcome data through the listed accreditors and the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Western Dakota Technical College offers 19 program families, with the most completers in LPN/LVN programs (56), welding (30), and phlebotomy (19). Other offerings include HVAC, electrician, diesel mechanic, and medical assistant training.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited. Specific programs hold accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the institution is accredited overall by the Higher Learning Commission.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, meaning students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 54.2%, which is below the South Dakota state average of 73.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt among graduates is reported at $15,000, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $40,240.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (605) 718-2400 or visit wdt.edu for current tuition information.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Western Dakota Technical College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition rates for state residents compared to private for-profit trade schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly to confirm program duration for a specific field.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation, or the Higher Learning Commission, and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard (https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?219480).
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers occupational programs like LPN, welding, and phlebotomy that are common paths for career changers, though specific scheduling or program length details are not reported here; contact the school to confirm fit for your situation.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Western Dakota Technical College at (605) 718-2400 or through its website, wdt.edu.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Rapid City, SD
- National American University-Rapid CityRapid City, SD · university
- Paul Mitchell the School-Rapid CityRapid City, SD · 88% completion
- The Salon Professional AcademyRapid City, SD · 79% completion
- Oglala Lakota CollegeKyle, SD · college
- Sturgis Harlow's School Bus ServiceSturgis, SD
- ZH express corporationSpearfish, SD
- Lake Area Technical CollegeWatertown, SD · 73% completion
- Southeast Technical CollegeSioux Falls, SD · 59% completion
See all trade and career schools in South Dakota or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.