Career Training Path › Dental assistant schools › Wisconsin
Dental assistant schools in Wisconsin
Wisconsin has 14 accredited campuses awarding dental assisting credentials. If you finish and work as a dental assistant in Wisconsin, expect to start around $39,500–$45,560 and reach a median of $47,520 with experience; the top quarter earn $55,630 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Wisconsin). Graduates of these Wisconsin programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $26,987 in their first year, against $24,225 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What dental assistants earn in Wisconsin
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 7,760 employed in Wisconsin. National median: $48,070.
Campuses in Wisconsin, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AppletonClevelandEau ClaireFennimoreGreen BayJanesvilleKenoshaLa CrosseMadisonMilwaukeePewaukeeRice LakeWausau
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chippewa Valley Technical College | Eau Claire | Public | 19 | $31,153 | not reported | 50% | not reported |
| Western Technical College | La Crosse | Public | 14 | $30,011 | not reported | 34% | not reported |
| Northeast Wisconsin Technical College | Green Bay | Public | 18 | $27,079 | not reported | 51% | not reported |
| Lakeshore Technical College | Cleveland | Public | 14 | $26,896 | not reported | 50% | not reported |
| Milwaukee Career College | Milwaukee | for-profit | 8 | $25,952 | $7,046 | 44% | $30,148 |
| Southwest Wisconsin Technical College | Fennimore | Public | 13 | $24,346 | not reported | 66% | not reported |
| Madison Area Technical College | Madison | Public | 37 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Fox Valley Technical College | Appleton | Public | 25 | not reported | $5,229 | 65% | not reported |
| Milwaukee Area Technical College | Milwaukee | Public | 25 | not reported | not reported | 25% | not reported |
| Waukesha County Technical College | Pewaukee | Public | 22 | not reported | not reported | 44% | not reported |
| Gateway Technical College | Kenosha | Public | 17 | not reported | not reported | 51% | not reported |
| Northcentral Technical College | Wausau | Public | 17 | not reported | not reported | 45% | not reported |
| Blackhawk Technical College | Janesville | Public | 14 | not reported | not reported | 34% | not reported |
| Northwood Technical College | Rice Lake | Public | 4 | not reported | not reported | 56% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.