Career Training Path › Wisconsin › Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
Fennimore, Wisconsin · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 1800 Bronson Blvd, Fennimore, WI 53809 · Phone: (608) 822-3262 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College is a public trade and career school in Fennimore, WI offering CNA classes, EMT training, and medical billing & coding, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College has a 66.4% completion rate, near the Wisconsin state average of 62.8%, with median graduate debt of $7,500 and median earnings of $43,470 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Southwest Wisconsin Technical College; contact the school for current tuition. The school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 20.2% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing assistants | $37,900 | $45,130 | $47,320 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $33,550 | $43,060 | $49,960 |
| Medical records specialists | $46,750 | $60,280 | $66,140 |
| Electrical power-line installers and repairers | $58,330 | $105,820 | $112,150 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $47,060 | $58,410 | $62,220 |
| Construction laborers | $37,990 | $56,100 | $72,130 |
| Medical assistants | $39,480 | $48,680 | $55,000 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $23,790 | $36,230 | $47,060 |
| Dental assistants | $39,500 | $47,520 | $55,630 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $36,590 | $54,350 | $69,570 |
| Machinists | $40,600 | $59,110 | $63,350 |
| Manicurists and pedicurists | $20,950 | $36,680 | $45,750 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Wisconsin (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 171 | $16,618 | $20,140 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, under 300 hours | 59 | $34,851 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 41 | $53,821 | $45,341 | $4,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 37 | $38,589 | $43,426 | $4,000 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 30 | $32,688 | $29,685 | $7,592 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | $28,671 | $28,302 | $5,771 |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | not reported | $20,824 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 13 | $24,346 | $26,739 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 13 | $34,370 | not reported | $14,000 |
| Mason/Masonry | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | $38,589 | $43,426 | $4,000 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $30,048 | $31,851 | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | $28,236 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 5 | not reported | $20,824 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 4 | not reported | $40,821 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 4 | $30,048 | $31,851 | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College is a public technical college located in Fennimore, WI, a remote rural community. The school participates in federal Title IV financial aid programs, meaning students may use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help cover costs. It holds accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission, along with program-specific accreditation from bodies including the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. The campus offers 17 program families spanning healthcare, trades, and technical fields, with its most-completed programs being CNA classes (171 completers), EMT and paramedic training (59), and medical billing and coding programs (43).
Federal data shows a completion rate of 66.4%, which is near the Wisconsin state average of 62.8%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $7,500. Median earnings ten years after entry stand at $43,470. Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 20.2% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of students with financial need.
With a strong emphasis on short, completion-focused certificate and associate-level programs like CNA training and EMT certification, this campus may suit students seeking direct entry into healthcare or technical trade work, including adult career changers, though program length and format should be confirmed directly with the school. To verify accreditation status and review the most current federal outcome data, prospective students can consult the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard or contact the school directly.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College offers 17 program families, with the most completers in CNA classes (171), EMT & paramedic training (59), and medical billing & coding (43). Other program areas include welding, cosmetology, dental assisting, auto mechanics, and CNC machining.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the college is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, with additional program-specific accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants and federal loans.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 66.4%, which is near the Wisconsin state average of 62.8%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt among borrowing graduates is $7,500, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $43,470, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public technical college, which often means lower tuition for in-state residents and greater accountability through state oversight compared to for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school at (608) 822-3262 or visit swtc.edu to confirm program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can review official federal outcome data and confirm accreditation status through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?239910.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school's emphasis on shorter certificate and associate-level programs such as CNA and EMT training may suit adults seeking direct entry into healthcare or technical fields, though specific scheduling and format details should be confirmed with the school.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Southwest Wisconsin Technical College at (608) 822-3262 or through its website at https://www.swtc.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; the College Scorecard can be used to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across similar institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in Wisconsin
- Fox Valley Technical CollegeAppleton, WI · 65% completion
- Gateway Technical CollegeKenosha, WI · 51% completion
- Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeMilwaukee, WI · 25% completion
- Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeGreen Bay, WI · 51% completion
- Madison Area Technical CollegeMadison, WI · college
- Waukesha County Technical CollegePewaukee, WI · 44% completion
- Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeEau Claire, WI · 50% completion
- Northwood Technical CollegeRice Lake, WI · 56% completion
See all trade and career schools in Wisconsin or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.