Career Training Path › Medical billing & coding programs › Michigan
Medical billing & coding programs in Michigan
Michigan has 26 accredited campuses awarding billing & coding credentials. If you finish and work as a medical records specialist in Michigan, expect to start around $37,180–$41,370 and reach a median of $48,120 with experience; the top quarter earn $61,470 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Michigan). Graduates of these Michigan programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $28,290 in their first year, against $26,499 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What medical records specialists earn in Michigan
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 4,890 employed in Michigan. National median: $51,140.
Campuses in Michigan, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: Ann ArborAuburn HillsBig RapidsBrimleyCentrevilleDearbornDetroitDowagiacGrand RapidsGraylingIronwoodJacksonLansingLivoniaMadison HeightsOwossoPetoskeyRosevilleSaginawScottvilleTroyUniversity CenterWarrenWayneWoodhaven
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Davenport University | Grand Rapids | non-profit | 32 | $33,724 | $30,178 | not reported | not reported |
| Ferris State University | Big Rapids | Public | 9 | $33,432 | $24,950 | not reported | not reported |
| Schoolcraft Community College District | Livonia | Public | 35 | $33,239 | $8,904 | not reported | not reported |
| Baker College | Owosso | non-profit | 15 | $30,827 | $20,000 | not reported | not reported |
| Macomb Community College | Warren | Public | 29 | $28,843 | not reported | 18% | not reported |
| Dorsey College-Dearborn | Detroit | for-profit | 23 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 35% | not reported |
| Dorsey College-Saginaw | Saginaw | for-profit | 10 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 66% | not reported |
| Dorsey College | Madison Heights | for-profit | 7 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 54% | not reported |
| Dorsey College-Wayne | Wayne | for-profit | 6 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 50% | not reported |
| Dorsey College-Roseville | Roseville | for-profit | 5 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 35% | not reported |
| Dorsey College-Woodhaven | Woodhaven | for-profit | 4 | $20,833 | $13,000 | 48% | not reported |
| Jackson College | Jackson | Public | 50 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Oakland Community College | Auburn Hills | Public | 43 | not reported | not reported | 21% | not reported |
| Washtenaw Community College | Ann Arbor | Public | 23 | not reported | not reported | 33% | not reported |
| Delta College | University Center | Public | 14 | not reported | not reported | 27% | not reported |
| Gogebic Community College | Ironwood | Public | 11 | not reported | not reported | 36% | not reported |
| Kirtland Community College | Grayling | Public | 9 | not reported | not reported | 34% | not reported |
| North Central Michigan College | Petoskey | Public | 9 | not reported | not reported | 29% | not reported |
| Wayne County Community College District | Detroit | Public | 8 | not reported | not reported | 22% | not reported |
| Henry Ford College | Dearborn | Public | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Lansing Community College | Lansing | Public | 7 | not reported | not reported | 25% | not reported |
| Southwestern Michigan College | Dowagiac | Public | 7 | not reported | not reported | 38% | not reported |
| West Shore Community College | Scottville | Public | 4 | not reported | not reported | 27% | not reported |
| Bay Mills Community College | Brimley | Public | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Glen Oaks Community College | Centreville | Public | 2 | not reported | not reported | 43% | not reported |
| Carnegie Institute | Troy | for-profit | 1 | not reported | not reported | 50% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.